MPEG2 Audio Codec: SoundMAX
Satelite/CableTV Provider: Charter
HTPC Case: Some cheap thing from NewEgg
Cooling: Fans
Power Supply: 350W
Remote: Microsoft
TV: Samsung 46" DLP
TV - HTPC Connection: S-Video

I'm having a strange problem that I can't figure out and I'm hoping someone can help. I've been using Mediaportal for about 8 months now without a single issue. Then suddenly in the last couple of days MP would crash whenever I watched a DVD. This unit has never done anything but run MP and it is a dedicated machine. Anyway, I tried uninstalling and reinstalling MP and still the DVD crash problem kept happening. So I assumed perhaps something in the OS became corrupted and instead of spending hours and hours trying to trouble shoot I just formatted the drive and reinstalled everything.

Okay, this is where it gets weird. During the setup of MP I did the usual channel scans and radio station scans. Everything was detected without issue. You could see the whole signal strength, it read the correct channels, etc etc. However, when I try to watch TV there is no picture or sound and when I try to listen to the radio there is no sound. Regular system sounds work fine, and it must be getting a signal to have actually picked things up during the scans. However, I can't figure out why I don't get audio or video.

Anyone have any ideas? The first time I set this up I didn't have a single issue...it was just lickity split and bang, I was a happy camper. I do notice this build (which I thought was the same as the one I ran before) has a new menu selection for telesomething, so maybe there is something new I need to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated...and yes, if I get this working again, I'm making a Ghost image of the drive!

Berns

Portal Pro
July 27, 2009
Home Country
Belgium Belgium
Hi ExploreMN,

I've come accross your message while browsing for a sollution on a problem I currently have. Sorry for responding this late.