Volume OSD for system volume

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by Nazgulled, January 1, 2009.

  1. Nazgulled

    Nazgulled Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 1, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Portugal Portugal
    Hi,

    I can't remove the volume buttons actions on my remote to change the volume in MediaPortal only nor I want to cause if I did that and closed MediaPortal, I couldn't use the volume buttons anymore.

    So, basically, I only use the system volume to control the general volume of my HTPC. The buttons on the remote and also the volume knob on the case control the general system volume, this is the behavior I want.



    However, I'm wondering if I could see the volume OSD for the system volume... Currently, only MediaPortal volume is displayed on the OSD but I don't use that one, I use the system volume, which is not displayed.

    Is this possible?

    P.S: I wondered because Vista Media Center works like this and it's nice to see the volume OSD when I press the remote buttons so I can see how low/high the volume is.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Marcusb
    • Premium Supporter

    Marcusb Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    I think this is an option in the configuration. In the general section (may need to switch to advanced mode) you can set what volume is controlled by the volume controls.
    I don't use it, so not sure if that is what you want eactly, but worth checking it out.

    Marcus.
     
  4. Nazgulled

    Nazgulled Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 1, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Portugal Portugal
    I have that already set to "System Volume" (or something like that, can't remember the name) and the buttons on the remote do work for the system volume, but there's no OSD about it...
     
  5. bogser

    bogser Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Hi,

    Has something changed? Is it possible to display volume OSD in last mediaportal when master volume is changed outside (e.g. from remote) as windows 7 media center does?
     
  6. powermarcel10
    • Premium Supporter

    powermarcel10 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    789
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Callcenter Agent
    Location:
    Groningen
    Ratings:
    +1,028 / 4
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hi Bogser, it's not possible yet, but there is a great solution for it.. Use the free program "3RVX" this is a iphone look a like volume OSD ( there are a lot of different skins included) and this will also showup inside Mediaportal.. It's working great! You only have to set that the osd also showup when other fullscreen programs are active.

    Good luck!


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.234317,6.611481
     
  7. bogser

    bogser Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Thanks for reply,
    I've tested 3RVX a year ago and had some problems with it. OSD was too small on my TV, setting volume change step did not work, maybe something else. Also, seems like 3RVX is not developed now, there is only 2.5 version as a year ago.

    For now, I'm using my own script for AutoHotkey_L for displaying OSD:

    [​IMG]
    Code (Text):
    1. #Include VA.ahk  ; Required for VA_GetMasterVolume and VA_GetMasterMute functions, download from http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic23792.html
    2.  
    3. nVolumeIndicatorDisplayTime := 1000 ; Number of ms that should elapse before hiding volume indicator
    4. nVolumeIndicatorWidth := 500
    5. nVolumeIndicatorX := Round( (A_ScreenWidth - nVolumeIndicatorWidth) / 2 )
    6. nVolumeIndicatorY := A_ScreenHeight - 200
    7.  
    8. ; The $ prefix is needed so that a hotkey can "send itself" without entering into infinite loop
    9.  
    10. $Volume_Up::
    11.     Send {Volume_Up}
    12.     Sleep, 50 ; Give some time to Windows to process message
    13.     Gosub, ShowVolumeIndicator
    14.     return
    15.  
    16. $Volume_Down::
    17.     Send {Volume_Down}
    18.     Sleep, 50 ; Give some time to Windows to process message
    19.     Gosub, ShowVolumeIndicator
    20.     return
    21.  
    22. $Volume_Mute::
    23.     Send {Volume_Mute}
    24.     Sleep, 50 ; Give some time to Windows to process message
    25.     Gosub, ShowVolumeIndicator
    26.     return
    27.  
    28. ShowVolumeIndicator:
    29.     nVolume := Round(VA_GetMasterVolume())
    30.     bMute := VA_GetMasterMute()
    31.  
    32.     if (!bMute)
    33.       strVolumeText := nVolume
    34.     else
    35.       strVolumeText := "Mute"
    36.  
    37.     ; To prevent the "flashing" effect, only create the progress window if it doesn't already exist
    38.     IfWinNotExist, HTPCVolumeOSDWindowTitle
    39.     {
    40.         Progress, 1:B1 W%nVolumeIndicatorWidth% X%nVolumeIndicatorX% Y%nVolumeIndicatorY% CWWhite CBGreen CTGreen, , %strVolumeText%, HTPCVolumeOSDWindowTitle
    41.         WinSet, Transparent, 225, HTPCVolumeOSDWindowTitle
    42.     }
    43.     Progress, 1:%nVolume%, , %strVolumeText%
    44.     SetTimer, HideVolumeIndicator, %nVolumeIndicatorDisplayTime%
    45.     return
    46.  
    47. HideVolumeIndicator:
    48.     SetTimer, HideVolumeIndicator, Off
    49.     Progress, 1:Off
    50.     return
    It works, but it would be better if mediaportal displayed volume OSD natively according to its current skin as windows media center does.
     

    Attached Files:

    • OSD.png
      OSD.png
      File size:
      1.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      January 26, 2012
      Views:
      182
  8. bogser

    bogser Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
  9. bogser

    bogser Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Have updated my previous script that displays master volume OSD in Vista/Windows 7. Previous version does not work if 'Use Microsoft MCE remote or keyboard' option is enabled in MediaPortal configuration. Bug is fixed, new script successfully changes master volume and displays volume OSD when pressing volume control keys on MCE remote or any media keyboard.

    To run the script save it to VolumeOSD.ahk file (you can use any other file name for it), install AutoHotKey_L, download the latest VA.ahk and place it next to the VolumeOSD.ahk, double click the VolumeOSD.ahk.

    [​IMG]
    Code (Text):
    1. #Include VA.ahk
    2.  
    3. nVolumeIndicatorDisplayTime := 1000 ; Number of ms that should elapse before hiding volume indicator
    4. nVolumeChangeStep := 2 ; Volume change step in percentage
    5. nVolumeIndicatorWidth := 500
    6. nVolumeIndicatorX := Round( (A_ScreenWidth - nVolumeIndicatorWidth) / 2 )
    7. nVolumeIndicatorY := A_ScreenHeight - 200
    8.  
    9. Volume_Up::
    10.     VA_SetMasterVolume(Round(VA_GetMasterVolume() + nVolumeChangeStep))
    11.     Gosub, ShowVolumeIndicator
    12.     return
    13.  
    14. Volume_Down::
    15.     VA_SetMasterVolume(Round(VA_GetMasterVolume() - nVolumeChangeStep))
    16.     Gosub, ShowVolumeIndicator
    17.     return
    18.  
    19. Volume_Mute::
    20.     VA_SetMasterMute(NOT VA_GetMasterMute())
    21.     Gosub, ShowVolumeIndicator
    22.     return
    23.  
    24. ShowVolumeIndicator:
    25.     nVolume := Round(VA_GetMasterVolume())
    26.     bMute := VA_GetMasterMute()
    27.  
    28.     strVolumeText := bMute ? "Mute" : nVolume
    29.  
    30.     ; To prevent the "flashing" effect, only create the progress window if it doesn't already exist
    31.     IfWinNotExist, HTPCVolumeOSDWindowTitle
    32.     {
    33.         Progress, 1:B1 W%nVolumeIndicatorWidth% X%nVolumeIndicatorX% Y%nVolumeIndicatorY% CWWhite CBGreen CTGreen, , %strVolumeText%, HTPCVolumeOSDWindowTitle
    34.         WinSet, Transparent, 225, HTPCVolumeOSDWindowTitle
    35.     }
    36.     Progress, 1:%nVolume%, , %strVolumeText%
    37.     SetTimer, HideVolumeIndicator, %nVolumeIndicatorDisplayTime%
    38.     return
    39.  
    40. HideVolumeIndicator:
    41.     SetTimer, HideVolumeIndicator, Off
    42.     Progress, 1:Off
    43.     return
    44.  
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!