Which additional DVB-S2 card beside my TechnoTrend S2-3200

Discussion in 'TV-Cards' started by lkuech, June 27, 2007.

  1. lkuech
    • Team MediaPortal

    lkuech Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi everybody.

    I think about upgrading my HTPC with a second HDTV (H.264) capable DVB-S2 card.
    I currently use the TV Server 0.3 with a TechnoTrend S2-3200 and everything is running well (including HDTV).



    But is it a good idea to buy a second S2-3200 or is it better to use a card from a different company. I have read here in the forum some where that the TV server may have problems with two similar cards ... this would mean it is better to buy a different one.

    What experiences has you made?

    Bye and Thx
    Lars
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. lkuech
    • Team MediaPortal

    lkuech Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Did nobody use 2 DVB-S2 cards with the TVe 3? :eek:

    I cant believe this.

    Has anyone experiences using to identical cards with the TVe 3?

    Bye
    Lars
     
  4. flokel
    • Team MediaPortal

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    just a sidenote:

    if you plan to use dvb-s2 with your new card as well,
    there will be no other option as the technisat skystar hd (which is recognized as s2-3200) or the original s2-3200 as for now it seems that the dvb-s2 part of other cards isn't working
    (found here: http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/TV-Engine_0.3/tvcards)

    in general there should not be a problem using two equal cards
    if you apply the following patch:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/patch_multi_dvb_tuner_issue_and_channel-t6344.html
     
  5. lkuech
    • Team MediaPortal

    lkuech Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thx flokel. The patch is already applied.

    Well. It really look like the Technotrend is the only option for DVB-S2 right now. Unfortunately the 3200 is not pretty reliable after hibernation... even with devcon it seems to fail from time to time.

    Do you have an advice for a budget non S2 card?

    Bye
    Lars
     
  6. flokel
    • Team MediaPortal

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    why not try the technisat skystar hd?

    no problems here after hibernation with the technisat drivers
    (you can use the technotrend ones as well)
     
  7. Mew

    Mew Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2007
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    COBOL/DB2 IBM z/Series Mainframe Developer
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Hi Lars

    I am using 2 Hauppauge WinTV HVR-4000s which are analogue (software), DVB-T and DVB-S/S2. I am only using the DVB-S part at the moment but both cards seem to work fine with TVe 3. I also have a Hauppauge WinTV PVR-500 and this also happily co exists with the 2 HVR-4000s.

    The HVR-4000s were an expensive solution (I bought them for DVB-S with an eye on DVB-S2 and DVB-T) but after using the patch I have had no problem in Windows XP Pro SP2.

    Mew
     
  8. lkuech
    • Team MediaPortal

    lkuech Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thanx for your answer Mew.

    So if I understand you correctly than you have no experiences with DVB-S2 (H.264) so far?

    Bye
    Lars
     
  9. daHive

    daHive Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 1, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    i got the hvr-4000 too, using it for dvb-s with tve3 and mp 0.2.2.0. works fine.
    but i cannot find the free-to-air hd channels(pro7 hd, sat1hd, anixe) except for the astra demo channel. always getting a "no audio-/video detected" error, even though i entered all the tuning parameters.
     
  10. Mew

    Mew Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2007
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    COBOL/DB2 IBM z/Series Mainframe Developer
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Hi Lars

    I have had experience of H.264 but not DVB-S2. This is because I believe BBC HD are currently using DVB-S to transmit H.264 not DVB-S2. I have read they may go to DVB-S2 when their HD broadcasts come out of pilot, but I don't know when that will be.

    The H.264 seems to work a lot better since the recent SVN where you can chose a separate Codec for H.264.

    Mew
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!