Win 7, MP1.1RC1, and Emprex remote

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by fesarius, March 19, 2010.

  1. fesarius

    fesarius New Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Can anyone help me with my remote control woes? I've been trying to make the switch from Windows Media Centre to Mediaportal for a few months now but I keep hitting brick walls. I believe everything is working now apart from my remote.



    It is an Emprex 3009URF MCE Remote that works perfectly in Windows Media Centre. I have selected 'Use MCE remote' and 'Use HID Device' in mediaportal, which gets most of the keys working - it's just important one's like the Guide, Live TV, Info, Back etc that don't work now. When selecting 'Use MCE remote' only, it only the Up, Down, Left, Right, OK buttons that work.

    I would be really grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction, as I desperately want to convert to Mediaportal :)


    MediaPortal Version: 1.1RC1
    MediaPortal Skin: N/A
    Windows Version: Windows 7
    CPU Type: Ion 330
    HDD:
    Memory:
    Motherboard:
    Video Card:
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card:
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: WinFast DVB stick
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: Emprex 3009URF MCE Remote
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection: Single seat
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. AIstudio
    • Premium Supporter

    AIstudio MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 27, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Web Dev, 3D Modeler & Gfx
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi fesarius,
    Although i have never used your remote i feel that the program that may solve your issues is IRSS (or IR server suite).
    I used to use IRSS a LOT over recent years with MP because of its ability to remap etc etc etc. Now that i am on win7 and the latest MP all i do these days is to put a tick in the MCE remote in MP config and all is good for me.
    Have a look here and a good read and maybe post a question in the IRSS forum.
    Hope this helps or at least gets you on the road to success :)

    Regards

    Kev
     
  4. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    How is the remote recognised in device manager, does it exist using the ehome ir receiver category as in picture, if so hardwareID required, so it can be aded to the remote list found in user files.

    sshot-1.jpg sshot-2.jpg
     
  5. niblet

    niblet Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 4, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have exactly the same setup as you, I'm using the shorcut'er plugin (it's a process plugin) which allows you to jump to any part of media portal by a key press along with Event Ghost to map the rest of the keys on the remote to the key presses set up in shortcut'er.

    I have all my media buttons set to a different section/plugin and can use the green button to launch mediaportal or use it to go back to the home screen

    Event Ghost is free and if you want to use it, let me know if you want my config file / shortcut'er config :D
     
  6. fesarius

    fesarius New Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi niblet, thanks for the reply.

    I remember trying to get Eventghost working a while ago with no success, and have just tried again. I've enabled the generic usb and mediaportal plugins in eventghost, but no events show up in the event log when pressing keys on my remote - so I can't map any events to actions. I'm sure i've probably set it up wrong, so I would appreciate it if you could share your config files with me :)

    Thanks!

    edit:
    Ah ha! I've now got the remote buttons mapped in Eventghost to the actions in the mediaportal plugin (I had 3 choices of device when adding the generic HID plugin and had to select all of them, as each one seemed to respond to different groups of buttons).

    Here's a step by step guide in case anyone else has the same issue:

    * Install EventGhost
    * Load it up and create a new setup by going to File > New.
    * Click on the add plugins button and add your corresponding remote plugin (MCE remote, or General HID).
    * Select each instance of your device in the plugin's configuration, and add a plugin for each one.
    * Add the Mediaportal plugin to Eventghost.
    * If you have selected the correct remote plugin, button presses will show up in the log on the left hand side.
    * Expand the Mediaportal folder in Eventghost and for each Macro in here, press the relevant remote button and drag the log entry accross to the macro to assign the button press to that action.
    * I then had to install MessagePlugin for mediaportal (MediaPortal - Mediacenter - - Message Plugin) which passes the remote presses from eventghost to mediaportal.

    This should now work when you fire up mediaportal. I hope to see Mediaportal work as seamlessly as Windows Media Centre in the future, which just works as soon as you open it. But I don't envy the developers, these remotes are a pain as they all handle differently.

    Thanks to the above posters, and hope this helps anyone else that gets lost in the world of remote configuration!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. niblet

    niblet Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 4, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Glad to see you got it working.
     
  8. p4cm4n

    p4cm4n Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Great guide fella, stuck on the above bit though. What do you mean by:

    Select each instance of your device in the plugin's configuration, and add a plugin for each one.?

    Thanks.
     
  9. bob_harris

    bob_harris New Member

    Joined:
    July 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When you add the Generic HID plugin (the Emprex remote is a Generic HID, even though it is MCE certified) you will see the below dialog. Select the first, click OK. Add another Generic HID plugin and select the second and so on until you have a plugin for each instance of your remote (I have 3 instances so I have 3 plugins)
     

    Attached Files:

    • hid.png
      hid.png
      File size:
      79.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 9, 2010
      Views:
      361
  10. colossus-x

    colossus-x Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 4, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +8 / 12
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Hi, could you send me your config file to set this up I'd be most grateful!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!