[other] - Windowed mode maximizes on Restore?

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 BETA 1' started by pilehave, August 31, 2009.

  1. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi

    I find that minimizing MediaPortal in windowed mode and restoring will give me a black screen, trying to switch to MediaPortal. Even if I wait for 10 minutes it just keeps trying to switch.

    Running W7 using Catalyst 9.7, but this behaviour was not in the Alpha, and I didn't change anything in the system. Could someone running W7 try windowed mode? And someone in Vista the same?

    :D

    This is disturbingly close to the same behaviour I had with one of the earlier versions of 1.0.0 (RC I think?)


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    More info:

    On my XP system running the Beta too, I get this behaviour:

    desktop = 1024x768 (my setting)
    run in a window results as expected in 1280x720 (skin size)
    minimizing window, and restoring results in something that looks to be a normal PAL resolution at about 720x576 ?!

    The Alpha definately didn't behave this way...
     
  4. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
  5. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Installed the Beta at my XP PC here at work and it works without ene the smallest amount of flicker!
    Even when playing a video it smoothly pops down and up no matter what I try to do, resizing window, moving around, sharing on two monitors etc...

    I'll try to compare this setup with my XP at home. Will update with more info :)
     
  6. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Vista + Windows 7 share different code related to DirectX handling. So, the bug fix might have caused the side effect only on the Vista + Windows 7 side.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!