Windows 7: 32bit or 64bit?

Discussion in 'Operating System' started by Mister Bean, February 20, 2010.

  1. Mister Bean

    Mister Bean Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 30, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    ICT Projectmanager
    Location:
    Lelystad
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    I'm planning to install Windows 7 64 bit as OS on my HTPC. I know that MP is a 32 bit application. Are there any disadvantages in relation to MP1.1 when Windows 7 64 bit is used? Or is it better to use the 32 bit version?

    Thanks in advance fot the replies.

    Regards,
    Nico


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mew

    Mew Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2007
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    COBOL/DB2 IBM z/Series Mainframe Developer
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Hi Mister Bean

    As long as you have the drivers for all your hardware there shouldn't be a problem.

    I have been using MediaPortal on Windows Vista x64 and then Windows 7 x64 since October without any issues.

    One thing that I think is necessary is to use 32 bit versions of Codecs rather than 64 bit versions (as MediaPortal is 32 bit).

    Mew
     
  4. funkstar
    • Team MediaPortal

    funkstar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 9, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    My TV server is W7 64bit, but that's just the server, the clients I have are both W7 32bit. Both a dedicated to being MP clients, have 4GB RAM or less and really don't need to be 64bit at all. I figured it was just easier to have them 32bit.
     
  5. Hodor

    Hodor Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 5, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    As long as MP is 32bits and cannot really use the 64 bit features, I would say stick with 32bit.

    Unless you use the server for something else that benefit from 64bit :)
     
  6. damaster

    damaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 23, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thinking of upgrading my HTPC which is currently running Vista x86 to Windows 7. Can't decide whether I should go with x86 or x64 version of Windows 7.

    MP is a 32-bit application, so will it run better on a 32-bit OS? Why can't I compile MP as a 64-bit application myself using VS2008?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!