Windows Activation

Discussion in 'OffTopic' started by Paranoid Delusion, November 5, 2006.

  1. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Getting really fed up with this now.

    Have gone through the rigmorole of passing Windows authentification, christ knows how many times, since upgrading my PC.

    Just installed latest Nvidia driver, and it wants me too reregister windows over the telephone, yet again, saying major hardware changes have taken place.:eek:

    As this is the only Hardware\driver change made since first activating XP pro, now starting to get on my t**s.

    Am I the only one, and is there a workaround. (Nothing illegal just want my Bought and paid for copy of XP to stop P***ing me off).

    Thanks


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Taipan
    • Premium Supporter

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I think that M$ must be just picking on you - I have only ever had to complete the Windows Authentication once, and I have made numerous software and hardware changes ..... maybe I have just been lucky, so far ... :confused:
     
  4. jawbroken

    jawbroken Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Afghanistan Afghanistan
    I once disabled a few things in the BIOS (built in networking, USB legacy support, stuff like that) on my HTPC and the same thing happened to me. And then they make it so you can't register on the internet and you need to ring them at 3 in the morning. At least they are open 24 hours, I guess. Reading out a string of alphanumerical junk over the phone is always fun though.
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The point i'm trying to make is fine MS is worried about Piracy, but because of the New build pc, had already "done the phone thing after installing my hardware".

    So after 2 weeks, updating my graphics driver, it is a bit extreme to say you need to contact MS customer service yet again.

    Calmed down now, but still annoying, taking any form of DRM to extremes.
     
  6. Aquarius
    • Premium Supporter

    Aquarius MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 23, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Have you tried "XP-AntiSpy" -> RegDone ?
    Or "XSetup-Pro" ->"SetActivationDone"

    Regards
    /Gerd
     
  7. Efros

    Efros Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 23, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Inflictor of Physical Science on 18 year old Nerks
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    After going through a similar situation recently, and a growing dissatisfaction with XP for my main machine, I hosed XP on it and installed ubuntu, only thing I can't do is convert avi to rmvb, but then I can't be bothered to install WINE. MP is still on my HTPC and consequently I'll still have one machine running XP.
     
  8. cowpie

    cowpie Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 6, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    XP will be patched in 2008 by MS to disable activation, so you have that to look forward to at least! (if they stick by their words)
     
  9. wortelsoft

    wortelsoft Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I've read just reasently that the activation fades over time. What means that the chances that you have to reactivate windows lowers over time. It's a system with points like the demerit points for the drivers license in some country's if you loose your license and you get it back you will be low on point and eassily loose your license again. Same after activation your low on points at that time.

    Some good reading on this:

    http://discuss.pcmag.com/forums/112231001/ShowPost.aspx#112231001
     
  10. Marcusb
    • Premium Supporter

    Marcusb Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    If you can obtain a corporate license then you never have to activate ;-)

    Just need to work for a large company...
     
  11. ziphnor
    • Premium Supporter

    ziphnor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 4, 2005
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I just had to happen to me on my Windows Server 2003 developer machine. Updated the chipset drivers and was rewarded with having to phone Microsoft, enter ALOT of numbers, only to be harrased by alot of questions about how many copies i had installed, followed by entering even more number back on the PC.

    Luckily it(the phone-bot) asked me if i wanted to participate in a survey regarding this process and i had the chance to voice my frustration :)

    Previously i also had this happen on an XP machine after installing a network card, pretty frustrating overall.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!