Windows Taskbar Visible in Fullscreen

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by rmeredit, September 15, 2010.

  1. rmeredit
    • Premium Supporter

    rmeredit MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 10, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0 Final
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Windows 7 32 bit Professional
    CPU Type: Intel i3 530 (2.93Ghz)
    HDD: Western Digital 500GB SATA / 2x1.5TB Seagate SATA II in NAS
    Memory: 4GB DDR3 (3.37Gb Usable)
    Motherboard: Asus P7H55D-M Pro
    Video Card: Onboard Intel H55 Chipset
    Video Card Driver: Latest Intel Drivers
    Sound Card: Realtek HD Audio (on motherboard)
    Sound Card AC3: Optical Out
    Sound Card Driver: 6.0.1.6037
    1. TV Card: DNTV Live! Dual Hybrid PCIe S2
    1. TV Card Type: 2 x DVB-T + 2 x Analog
    1. TV Card Driver: 1.5.76.1623
    2. TV Card: Hauppage Nova TD Stick
    2. TV Card Type: 2 x DVB-T
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Microsoft
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: Microsoft
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC16M
    Cooling: Zelman
    Power Supply: 600W
    Remote: Logitech Harmony 755 (emulating iMon Pad, shipped with Silverston Case)
    TV: Sony 32" V300a
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI


    I recently upgraded from Windows XP SP3 to Windows 7 32bit. Under XP I had the taskbar set to autohide and not to be on top, and set MP to hide the taskbar under the configuration tool. I've tried to do the same in Windows 7, but frequently the taskbar can be seen when running MP in fullscreen mode: the taskbar minimises, but I can still see the top 1 or two pixels. The only way to get rid of it is to alt-tab out of and back into MP (a real hassle on the remote).

    Is there any way to properly hide the Windows 7 taskbar and keep it hidden when running MP in fullscreen mode? I run my display at native resolution and don't want to have to try kludgy things like overscan by 1-2 pixels (not even sure I can with the Intel graphics driver).


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Henkie Flits

    Henkie Flits Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 1, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Found any solution yet? I have the same problem.
    Taskbar Eliminator, a program I used gives me the results you describe. Not enough...

    I have a program which completly hides the taskbar but it requires a keypress every time windows is started. I want it to work when WIndows starts.
     
  4. technick

    technick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    You can replace the windows shell by MP, see "gpedit.msc"

    Make a black picture
    use it as wallpaper (do not use a black color as wallpaper)

    run gpedit.msc
    "User configuration"/"Administrative Template"/"System"
    "Custom User Interface"
    "Interface file name" -> "C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe"

    To exit MP
    alt-F4
    Control-shit-esc
    run "explorer.exe"

    if you need to run something at start
    run gpedit.msc
    "User configuration"/"Windows Settings"/"Scripts (Logon/Logoff)"
    "Logon" then "Add"
    "C:\Program Files\SOUNDGRAPH\iMON\iMON.exe" (example)
     
  5. Peter2
    • Premium Supporter

    Peter2 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 18, 2006
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    45
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    What about setting MP to always be on top?
    MP config -> General -> Keep MP always on top.
     
  6. perfectpitcher22

    perfectpitcher22 New Member

    Joined:
    January 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Have you tried choosing the force hide Windows taskbar option? You can also move it by right clicking on an empty space and verifying that lock toolbar is not checked. Then, you have to drag your cursor to the edge of the taskbar until a double-sided arrow appears. Now, you can drag your taskbar out to make it bigger. Another option you can choose it to permanently remove your taskbar by editing your registry.
     
  7. rmeredit
    • Premium Supporter

    rmeredit MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 10, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    I don't want to permanently remove the task bar - it serves a useful function. Similarly, configuring MP to be always on top is not an optn as the HTPC is often used to pull up a browser window or similar and I don't want to have to quit and restart MP everytime. I have auto-hide enabled in the taskbar settings as well as letting MP manage the taskbar under MP config. The problem only occurs, I think, when something gets added to the notification area. When an app places an icon there, the task bar gets the focus even though it's hidden, and the top 1 or 2 pixels show up.

    I'm currently experimenting with turning off all notifications (which is a bugger as there are useful things there like Wndows update stuff). Can't confirm it's working yet as the problem s intermittent.

    R.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!