[Installation] - Windows7 deactivated Media Player

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by hanoota, June 3, 2010.

  1. hanoota

    hanoota Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hey i already mentioned it briefly in this thread.

    You are able to deactivate the Windows Media Player 12 in Windows 7.
    If you do that and try to install MediaPortal it's displaying:
    State:"Media Player 11 not installed"
    Action:"Download->Install"

    And of course you can not install WMP11 on Windows7 like MediaPortal recommends.
    [​IMG]

    In my opinion it should detect if you are using Win7 and should display:
    State:"Media Player 12 deactivated"
    Action:"Reactivate"

    Or if it is too hard to implement to reactivate it with the installer, there should be at least a message to the user that he has to change the settings of WMP12 manually (Control Panel - Uninstall a program - Turn Windows features on or off - Expand Media Feature - Check Windows Media Player). After that Windows needs a reboot, so the installer must be started again...



    Here is a video to show you what the installer is showing if you try to install it with deactivated WMP12:
    http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/8255/mpiwmp12deactivated.mp4


    I think it would be more userfriendly if you give the users a accurate state-message! Otherwise unexperienced users might be confused why they can't install the WMP11 on theirs Win7;)
    Thank you for the attention!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hanoota

    hanoota Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: Windows7 deactivated Media Player

    No one likes my suggest? :/
     
  4. ryan20021982
    • Team MediaPortal

    ryan20021982 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    83
    Occupation:
    Prison Guard
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I dont understand why you would ever need to disable WMP in the first place, if you want to use another player change the associations.
     
  5. hanoota

    hanoota Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: Windows7 deactivated Media Player

    Why should you keep a Microsoft-Software activated on your system if you don't use it? (and imho there're a lots of better media-players around :)) But I think that shouldn't be part of a discussion...

    MediaPortal should provide the user a message why he can't install the software! Maybe even at the beginning like "Error - Please frist activate WMP12 and reboot your computer to continue the installation of MediaPortal"
     
  6. wonkyd
    • Team MediaPortal

    wonkyd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 29, 2007
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Windows7 deactivated Media Player

    :D
    true, maybe better to report in the bugs section
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    It's not really a bug but indeed an improvment.

    Will look into it if I won't be too busy next days...

    Simone
     
  8. TankGirl

    TankGirl New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I can't even INSTALL media portal now that I have wmp12 on here. I re-installed windows and when I go to install Mediaportal it wants WMP11 which I can't install, because I have WMP12 already installed... so I'm screwed.
    If I uninstall WMP12 it also uninstalls Windows Media Center.. which Media Portal also needs..
    So this sucks....
     
  9. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    You are installing now or downloading only?
    Because DeployTool, our installer, checks the version of WMP and this needs to be >=11 not =11 ;)

    Simone
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!