Operating System XP Pro starts lagging after < oneday uptime (1 Viewer)

Zappza

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 10, 2006
    Home Country
    Norway Norway
    Hi!

I have a HTPC setup which runs XP Pro SP3 with all the latest upgrades, newest drivers and everything is working perfectly including MediaPortal and codecs.

But as always, there is always a snake in paradise :)

If my HTPC has been on for more than one day, Windows starts to slow down/lag. Even the icons on my desktop take a few seconds to load completely, and I only have 8 icons. I have no background, just a solid colour.

In MediaPortal this is easily noticeable as the RSS Ticker in the bottom of BasicHome in StreamedMP and the menus are lagging. This also occurs when MediaPortal is not running, so I do not suspect that this is related to MP. As soon as I restart my HTPC, the lagging disappears for about one day, and then reappear.

My HW is:

AMD Athlon 64 4850e
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
    2GB DDR2 5400
    Fujitsu-Siemens 80GB 2,5'' SATA 5400rpm

Thanks a lot for the time you might be willing to put into this!

moab

Portal Pro
    April 22, 2008
    California
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    Check your Free drive space!

Wow your 80GB HDD is tiny (unless it is a typo).
    Is it a RAM/SSD drive and you have a NAS?
    I would want at least 80GB available work space on my system.
    If you record any TV (especially HD) it will fill up quickly. My TV recordings are between 4-8GB each.
    Consider increasing it as HD consumes space fast. IMHO a serious HTPC will need > 1TB of space.

skål

Zappza

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 10, 2006
    Home Country
    Norway Norway
    Check your Free drive space!

Wow your 80GB HDD is tiny (unless it is a typo).
    Is it a RAM/SSD drive and you have a NAS?
    I would want at least 80GB available work space on my system.