yet another noob seeking advice & thought... (1 Viewer)

boma23

Portal Member
January 25, 2007
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hello All

I've been thinking building a media pc through ever since i first stumbled across MediaPortal about a year back. Despite being a techy by trade, i've rarely ever delved into the media side of things, so i'm pretty much green as far as this is all concerned. I have been lurking for a while though ;)

Please bear in mind, I'm hoping this whole unit is going to be a reasonable budget (say no more than £350 total, exc TV, including bits i have lying around)

So, I'm hoping this thread will live as my build up tale...

The first point that stuck was "what are you going to use it for mainly?"

so, in no order:

* TV playback, and occasional recording. Digital AND analogue, as digital cannot be relied upon in my area, yet.

* Music & video playback (meaning any PC or DVD based media, i.e. MP3, WMA, MPEG1-4, AVI, WMV, MOV etc.)

* MAME32 - this unit will also be home to all ye olde arcade games of olde :)

so far, i've amassed/assembled some of the hardware:

- Antec case & PSU: NSK 2400 (couldn't afford the fusion!):
http://www.antec.com/uk/support_productInfo_details.php?ProdID=00241

-Western Digital 250 GB HD (16mb cache, 300mb write spd, very "cool 'n' quiet" lol

-recent Asrock MB (can't remember details, 5.1 onboard sound, VGA, LAN, 2 PCI expansion ports, 1 x PCI express/AGP, 1x IDE +1x SATA II) - EDIT: ASRock Alive NF6G-DVI

- Sempron 3000 (cool running CPU, should cope with most stuff)

- 2x DDR2 512mb PC2-4200 553mhz DIMM CL4 240pin Non-ECC (1GB total)

so, onto my first question:

1. does anyone have the link to that blog/site which used to be listed on the main mediaportal site, detailing one IT bloke's trial and errors, ending in using a macmini? really useful site with lots of guides, but can't find it now.