WORKING: MediaPortal 1.1.x, MPWebServices RC3, Windows 7 (1 Viewer)

AcesHigh

Portal Member
August 12, 2010
Home Country
Hi all. First post. Just wanted to drop in, give some thanks and perhaps some tips that I managed to get from reading these forums over the last two years. I’m no programmer, but I love to “tinker” which is probably the same for a lot of us who use MediaPortal.

The main thing I use MediaPortal for is for watching TV with gemx’s TVClient - a BIG thank you to gemx for all your hard work. When we upgraded to MP v1.1.0 I was horrified that TVClient was no longer supported – instead we moved on to MPWebServices.

I just wanted to post a little “how to” which gives a bit more detail for those (like me) who aren’t totally familiar with all this stuff.

System
Windows 7 (32-bit) UAC enabled
Internet Explorer 8
MediaPortal v1.1.0 - 1.1.1
MPWebServices RC3

After installing the msi you need to edit gentle.config (a text file) located in
C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\Plugins\MPWebServices\htdocs

You need to edit the <DefaultProvider/> line specifying:
Server= the IP address or computer name where your TVSever is running
Database=MpTvDb
User ID=root
Password=MediaPortal
Above values are given by default MP installation. If you are unsure then cut and paste from gentle.config located at: C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal

The line should look similar to this:

Code:
<DefaultProvider name="MySQL" connectionString="Server=192.168.0.100;Database=MpTvDb;User ID=root;Password=MediaPortal;charset=utf8;Connection Timeout=300;" />

Next, backup the folder: C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\Plugins\MPWebServices\htdocs\bin

Replace the following DLL’s in the bin folder with the newer versions located in MediaPortal TVServer folder: C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server

Gentle.Common.dll
Gentle.Framework.dll
Gentle.Provider.MySQL.dll
Gentle.Provider.SQLServer.dll
MySql.Data.dll
TvControl.dll