Can this be done???? (1 Viewer)

Pantonious

March 25, 2007
Home Country
Ok...

im a long time user of Windows MCE and now VMC...

pretty much, im moving house (ie, out of home :p)

and the new place doesn't have an antenna point on the wall in my room.

so i will be setting up my HTPC in the living room.

I want to be able to stream Live TV over Wireless 802.11g to my Laptop.

now, im new to media portal and i assume that is what the TVServer plugin thing is for???

now, i would really like to keep on using Vista on both my HTPC and my Laptop.

can i

1. Run the TV server in a Virtual Machine (i searched for it, and someone said no because of no DX9 support..but i will not be watching TV on this machine, this will be purely for streaming to my laptop)
2. Are there any Windows based programs that will let me watch it, or will i need to install Media Portal on my laptop...
3. can i dual boot between Media Portal and Vista PM/Ultimate easily???

(htpc currently has HP on it, the laptop is coming with ulti)

i would prefer not to have to dual-boot...

i am also renting with someone, and he will be wanting to use the htpc too, so dual booting might be a bit much for him to handle...

any advise you can offer would be grealy appriciated

THANKS!

EDIT...the HTPC is a AMD X2 4600, 2Gb RAM, 80gb + 2x250Gb HDDs and 7600GT...so, plenty of power to run the virtual machine and has a DVICO Dual HDTV Tuner, so i can watch one on the laptop and the other on the main pc..

chenks

Portal Pro
May 22, 2006
Scotland
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
answer to question 2 - you can use VLC to watch the live tv stream from the tvserver.

answer to question 3 - i think you are confused as to what MediaPOrtal is.... is it NOT an operating system, it is an application that runs on the windows platform. therefore i'm not sure why you think you would need to 'dual boot'.

Pantonious

March 25, 2007
Home Country
oh...well...don't i feel stupid...