Changer Hack development questions... (1 Viewer)

bigdude

Portal Member
September 28, 2007
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I have been working on code to add the ability to run a Firewire changer into My Films. In order to make the code as generic as possible I actually built it to use telnet to communicate with a changer control program I wrote some time ago in Delphi. Loading media takes close to 50 seconds. I am new to MediaPortal, so its internal GUI functions are a mystery to me... This may be a simple question, but here goes anyway.

How can I bring up a wait cursor while this process is underway (or bring up a dialog and then close it under program control) ?:confused:

My second question may be a bit tougher.
Since using a changer switches the media in a drive often I was wondering if there is a way to invalidate the play position memory (the prompt to restart media where it last left off) ?:confused:

I also tried to write this code generically so it could be used for other things as well. I noticed a message asking about using IR to control a changer elsewhere in this Forum. If anyone knows of a command line utility that can be used to handle the IR part, this code might be able to do that as well. For those that are curious this code essentially works by embedding additional information in the media path and then picking it apart to send changer commands. I am also working on adding the ability to execute arbitrary programs passing in the slot number, that is what could work for IR control or other functions.