Collection components, almost ready to build, need advice! (1 Viewer)

Chris091309

February 28, 2014
Home Country
Canada Canada
Hi Guys, I'm a newbie to HTPC but have always been interested. I'm recycling an old desktop PC I don't use very often into my first HTPC, and need some advice/guidance on a few things.

First my equipment:

evga 680i mother board
4 g DDR2 ram
EVGA 8800 GTX video card
Intel E6600 2.4ghz dual core proc
about 2 TD SATA HDD storage
Ultra ChillTec thermal proc cooler
nMedia 6000 HTPC case
Vision PLus DVBS card
Win 7
DirectTv D11-100 STB

My question is this. From doing a bit of research online on my DirectTv receiver it appears it is possible to control via PC to change channels with a USB/Serial cable. I'm looking for some detailed information on how to do this with MediaPortal.
I'm also not sure which video capture device would work best. Because my Video card and other cards (DVBS and wireless pci card) use most of the card space, I am looking into USB capture devices. My STB is not HDMI, so I'm not looking for 1080i. I'm looking hard at the Diamond VC500 but have a couple questions. First being, and this may be a dumb question, but I understand it has a button to "instantly record". Is it required to press this button to record, or can my HTPC control when it will allow signal to flow through it? Next question is.. The reason I was attracted to the VC500 is because it is advertised as being able to record to mp4 format. I haven't noticed this format supported by any other USB capture devices.
Ultimately what I would like to do is be able to use my DVBS pci card to populate the EPG on MediaPortal and then decode the channels using my DTV D11-100 receiver, all the while changing channels via USB/Serial from the receiver to my PC and capturing/timeshifting, time recording all with the VC500 using MediaPortal.