Confused about which TV tuner to get to work with my Direct TV.... & also plugin issues (1 Viewer)

rhilary

July 18, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hi there!

I am new to Media Portal. My goal is to be able to access to both my PC, Music,Movies & Direct TV all in one place for ease of access & because it seems like a fun thing to have!

I did some research & read over the wikis, however,I am still having issues figuring out which TV tuner to use that will work with my Direct TV. I found 2 tuner cards at best buy & I am wondering if either of these would work.(I will post links below)

Hauppauge - WinTV-TV Tuner

Hauppauge - 1213 WinTV-Hvr-2255 Mc-Kit Dual TV

If possible I'd like to buy from best buy if I can just because it's here in town & I wouldn't have to wait on the part to come in, but if there are other suggestions I wouldn't be opposed to buying online.

Also, I have already downloaded Media Portal 1, & installed the Pandora MusicBox plugin to test the waters. I signed in & it verified my login info ok, but when I try to access the plugin it gives me an error message. I figured I could go ahead & get pandora to work since I already have access to the internet regardless of the tv card. Is this just an issue with the plugin or am I doing something wrong? I tried to uninstall/reinstall with no luck. Also cannot access online videos via the online videos plugin.

Here are some print screens of the errors I am getting.

upload_2015-7-17_23-24-22.png

upload_2015-7-17_23-26-5.png

upload_2015-7-17_23-26-52.png

I am going to keep playing with it & keep searching online for answers, but any help would be appreciated! :)

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome! :)