[confirm] - Deleted scheduled recording from a recording-series isn't respected

Discussion in '1.7.0 Pre Release' started by rogerleifert, March 8, 2014.

  1. rogerleifert
    • Premium Supporter

    rogerleifert Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    In the attached logs I manually deleted the recording of the show "Tracks" on channel "arte" a few hours before.
    It is a recording series set to record "weekly always on saturdays".
    It correctly didn't show in the scheduled recordings list anymore.
    Nevertheless it did start the recording as if I never had deleted it.
    This isn't the first time this happens, but it happens always when I manually delete a schedule from a recording series.



    Can anybody please confirm

    Kind regards

    Roger
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    When you say delete a schedule and delete a recording, can you clarify. I think you are talking about hitting 'okay' on a schedule in the 'scheduled' screen and selecting 'cancel this programme'.

    Is this correct? If so, I do this all the time and it cancels the schedule correctly for me. However, some series do still record after a while and the only solution is a clean install. We do have a bug in jira related to this.

    Need detailed steps to reproduce, as it isn't easy to reproduce.
     
  4. rogerleifert
    • Premium Supporter

    rogerleifert Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Yes. Exactly. Sorry for ambiguity.
    Well, the schedule is cancelled correctly in the "scheduled recordings" screen, but nevertheless it does record the show although the schedule was cancelled.
    As I said this happens only (but always) when I cancel a schedule of a recording series, which is in my case of the kind "weekly always on day X".
    At first I thought that this could happen after the EPG is regularly refreshed and MP perhaps also refreshes or recalculates the times of the recordings series and "forgets" about cancelled recording schedules of a recording series.
    But in this case there definitely was no EPG refresh between the cancelling of the recording schedule and the unwanted recording.

    Could you give me the link. Then I can see if this identical to my problem.

    • Create a recording series of the kind "weekly always on day X"
    • Cancel the next scheduled recordings of this recording series
    • Wait and see that the cancelled recording schedule nevertheless is recorded
    I hope I could clarify a bit where my problem is

    Kind regards

    Roger
     
  5. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This
    https://issues.team-mediaportal.com/browse/MP1-2719
    is possibly related.

    I will try to reproduce the problem with exactly the scenario you give and see if this is a general problem. Would be good if others can also test. The team only have so much time, so help from the community is very welcome.
     
  6. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Tested here, and it cancelled the schedule correctly.

    My feeling is that when there are a lot of cancelled schedules in the database, it all gets a bit confused. I think if we can purge them once the date has gone, this might help.

    I guess we need to check the database periodically and clean out old schedules that are cancelled.
     
  7. rogerleifert
    • Premium Supporter

    rogerleifert Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    From the jira issue:
    Well I think that's a different issue.
    My problem is that the TV-server does not recognize the cancelling of an episode in the future (like the next upcoming episode), although the future episode is deleted from the scheduled recordings list.
    So it looks like that there is a correct entry generated in the canceledschedule table but nevertheless the TV-server does record the canceled episode.
    So cleaning up the canceledschedule table of past/old schedules has nothing to do with not respecting future canceled episodes.

    Kind regards

    Roger
     
  8. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    How long is it since you did a clean install of your TV server/database?

    My guess is it has been a while, and if you reinstalled the problem would go away for a few weeks. That is why I think it is related to the above issue.
     
  9. rogerleifert
    • Premium Supporter

    rogerleifert Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I did a clean install of the TV-server from the version when MP no longer officially supported WinXP (was it 1.6 ?) and then made a fresh install of Win7 and MP.
    But I kept/imported my database (MS-SQL server 2008).
    So the database of the TV-server is quite old (from a pre MP1.0 version) if you mean that.
     
  10. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    If it isn't a massive hassle you could always try dropping your TV database and it will create a new one. Then see if you still have the problem.

    At least if we can narrow this down to an issue with the database, we can look into ways we can fix it.
     
  11. rogerleifert
    • Premium Supporter

    rogerleifert Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ooh,well...
    I do have about 100 unwatched recordings, where I don't wanna lose the information stored in background (EPG-info).

    Could I export and (after creating a new database) reimport all settings except the schedules with the "Backup settings"-plugin or is this counterproductive to creating a new TV-server database to narrow down the issue?

    Inside the folder C:\\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50_SQLEXPRESS\MSSQL\DATA there is the "MpTvDb.mdf" stored which should be the Mediaportal TV-Server database.
    Can I as an alternative to deleting it simply rename it and later restore it to it's old name?

    In the same folder there are also database-files "master.mdf", "model.mdf", "MSDBData.mdf" and "tempdb.mdf"
    Do they also belong to the TV-server database and have they any meaning for MP or can I delete them?
     
    Last edited: March 11, 2014
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!