Did I mess up?

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by Penbrock2, August 20, 2015.

  1. Penbrock2

    Penbrock2 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 18, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I installed MP1 to replace Window$ Media Center. We now use WMC on 3 TV and 2 computers.
    I installed MP, got it all set up like I like it, but now I think I messed up.
    If I want to replace my 5 WMCs can I just have the rest call to my installed copy as the back end or do I need to install it on a dedicated computer?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Erm...I am not so sure what you are saying?!? I am not familiar with WMC but how did you connect to your TV when you have more TV's then you have PC's? With MP you need a client for each TV. This client has to be a Windows-PC. You can connect these clients with one server (where e.g. the TV-Cards are installed).

    But as said, I am not so sure if I did understand you correct...
     
    Last edited: August 21, 2015
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You can do 'client only' installs of MP on the other PCs - a 'single seat' installation (which I assume is what you have at the moment) can also act as the TV server for the whole network - many users run this kind of setup. A 'single seat' installation is basically TV server and MP client installed on the same PC.

    On the 'client only' PCs, just go into MP configuration -> TV and select the server PC 'hostname' to set up the connection - see http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/141_Configuration/MediaPortal_Configuration/22_TV
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Penbrock2

    Penbrock2 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 18, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Great I was hoping to keep a single tv server to feed the others
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!