Display IPTC captions/tag from picture in slideshow (1 Viewer)

ddj147

Portal Member
November 17, 2006
Home Country
Australia Australia
Started on: 2006-01-02
last update:

Summary:

I use Google Picassa to add captions to my photos which use the IPTC standard (as does Adobe Photoshop). The tags/captions are stored with the picture file (.jpg). I would like to be able to view these captions when using MP slideshow mode in MyPictures.

Description:

The functionality asked for is similar to Picassa's slideshow mode where it displays the IPTC captions when in slideshow. I'd love an option in MP where you can perhaps toggle the captions on/off in Setup and then have them display in auto slideshow mode.

Given that I'm not very technical, please forgive if the following is totally irrelevant, but there is some publically available source code for Java at http://www.drewnoakes.com/code/exif/ I realise that MP is .Net based but maybe there's some synergies ?

Anyway, just my 2c worth for some person to please add this functionality.

chefkoch

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 5, 2004
    Dresden / Munich / Maastricht
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    I am often using ACDSee.

And made some personal notes for this feature some time ago.

It could be possible to search the folders for pictures and import the infos into the database like in music.

Then will be different views possible, that depends on how good you pictures are tagged. The pictures can be gouped by people, which are shown on it, locations where the picture is shot and so on...

These are just ideas, and i think the first step will be just showing some info during a slideshow.

regards
    chefkoch

tomtom21000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 22, 2004
    Germany
    I asked for something similar for music (like the tags on last.fm)
    Gives you a far more flexible approach than the genre, e.g. "80s" in combination with "heavy metal" and "metal ballads".