Don't have a clue where to start! (1 Viewer)

schumach

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2010
    I have been using MP for about 2 years now and it has become my main source for music, videos and online movies/tv series. Thank you to all that support/develop this product. I am now wanting to get rid of my tv provider and get a HD antenna for local stations and listen to FM radio via MP. I want to be able to record the tv shows available via the HD antenna. I have been reading some of the other threads, but it just is not making any sense to me. I am looking for suggestions on the type of card I will need to accomplish what I have stated above. My HTPC is a core duo, ati hd 5570, windows 7, 4 gig ram. Any assistance very much appreciated.

schumach

schumach

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2010
    I currently have dish, but I want to stop the service and just us the HD antenna for my local service. If I decided to stay with Dish is there a tv card that will work with the activation card that I need to insert in my current set-top-box?

schumach

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2010
    That does help, I just need to figure out what card to get. Do I need a card that has a DVR, or does MP perform that function? I really appreciate the help.

Schumach

Paranoid Delusion

Moderation Manager
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 13, 2005
    Cheshire
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Have you decided to go down the atsc over the air using a antennae, if so you might want to consider a hauppauge HVR2250, this has 2 digital tuners which gives more recording watching flexibility, this would require an internal pci-e slot to be available.
    If you needed a remote, then the MCE version can be a good alternative.

Take a look at there website http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/country/country-selector.html

schumach

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2010