DVB-S, Sky's Encrypted Channels, PVR Functions (1 Viewer)

lloydsmart

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 10, 2009
    UK
    Home Country
    Wales Wales
    Hello. I've been using mediaportal for about 6 months now, and I love it. The one thing I haven't delved into yet is TV on the PC. What I want, in an ideal world, is to be able to put my Sky subscription card in the pc, and get full Sky+HD functionality for all my subscription channels.

From what I can gather from research, what I need for this is a couple of DVB-S2 cards and a cam to do the decoding. So far so good, but here are my questions:

1. What sort of cam do I need to decrypt sky digital in the UK with SD and HD channels?

2. How do I set up recording one encrypted channel while watching or recording another? I only have one subscription card, and I'd be willing to purchase two cams if necessary, but surely only one will work at a time. I don't really fancy swapping the card over all the time!

3. So far I've been working on the assumption that the most suitable sat card for this job would be a digitaleverywhere floppyDTV-S2 card, but I've also read that you can get any DVB-S2 card and just get a simple card-reading device to read the Sky card, so maybe this would solve the recording decryption problem? Ie the card could be shared between both cams or sat cards. Would this work? I believe this involves something called a softcam, but i'm not sure how legal these are or weather their discussion is allowed on these forums, so until we hear from the mods I guess we'd better keep the discussion purely theoretical for now (no specific program names, etc.) Just for the record, I wouldn't be doing anything illegal with it, just watching my sky channels which I pay good money for.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

miroslav22

Development Group Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 4, 2009
    Warwick
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi