Enhancing UI Experience While Using A Mouse? (1 Viewer)

tackyjan

August 8, 2014
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hello All!

I am brand new to MediaPortal, I just found out about it today and installed it on my Win 8.1 PC about 1 hour ago (the latest version 1.8). I have been messing around with it and I have one question and the Windows 8 user interface and using a mouse.

I am having an issue with trying to select a menu item and the mouse causing the menus to move (like on the home screen). If I use my keyboard L/R/Enter keys it's easy to navigate and select a menu it. With the mouse, however, it's a different story. I don't quite know how to explain it but it's like the menu moves when you move the mouse but it doesn't really "line up" with the mouse pointer making it hard to click an item. For example, lets say the menu item I want to select is on the left side of the GUI and my mouse is on the right. I start to move my mouse towards the menu and this in turn causes the menu to move and the closer I get the further away the menu gets! It's almost like a game trying to click the menu. :)

Is there a way to make the GUI more "mouse friendly"? Perhaps a skin/plugin that enhances or adds more mouse capability?

Thank you!

Jan

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome! :)

Quick question: have you set the font scaling/size on Windows to be higher than 100% (96 dpi)?
    If so, that would probably explain the offset between the mouse pointer and the menu focus.

mm

morpheus_xx

Retired Team Member
  • Team MediaPortal
  • March 24, 2007
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hello @tackyjan,

if you can't get MP1 working reliable, you should consider to test MP2 for various reasons:
    • modern architecture with central media database
    • support for multiple concurrent players(PiP, image+audio etc)