Ongoing Finally got my HTPC up and running (1 Viewer)

jonaskp

Portal Pro
October 23, 2006
Home Country
Denmark Denmark
Finally I got the time and parts to get my HTPC working. I've been reading these forums for quite awhile and finally it has become my turn to share my build.

Ever since I stumbled upon the term HTPC, I've wanted one myself. I love the possibilities, and the potentially endless list of features, that can be put into such a machine.
I started out thinking that MCE was the only way to go, but boy was I wrong. After reading up on forums, I found out about Mediaportal, and never since have I doubted that this was the way to go.

So, this is my first attempt at a HTPC, but hopefully not the last.

I'll start with the list of hardware:

CPU: P4 2,4ghz
MB: Some old Chaintech, can't remember excact name
Ram: 512 mb
GFX: Leadtek Geforce 4 ti-4200, modded to passive cooling with old P4 box cooler.
HDD: Seageate 120 GB
Tuner: Hauppauge PVR-500
Case: Standard PC case, havent gotten a decent HTPC case yet.
Sound: X-fi Elite Pro
Speakers: Creative 5.1 speaker system.
TV: 4 year old Samsung 28" CRT, not Widescreen :(

As you might expect, most of the parts are left overs from PC upgrades.
The plan is to change the CPU with a Athlon 64 3800+ that recently bought second-hand. Just waiting to find a motherboard and another GFX before I can make that change.
The Harddrive will also get changed at some point, since 120GB is not nearly enough for me. I find myself running out of space all the time, so I constantly have to erase shows and movies that I have seen.
The Case will get changed to, once I get the money for it, and me and my Girlfriend can agree on which case it should be - I fear that will be the hardest part of the entire build :D