[Evaluate] - Fix for several aspect ratio issues

Discussion in 'Submit: code patches (MediaPortal/TV-Server/etc.)' started by flyinj, August 10, 2010.

  1. flyinj

    flyinj Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    This Patch attempts to fix two things:
    1) The Problem with MPC decoder filter reporting wrong aspect ratio
    2) A potential bug in the handling crop settings by Normal zoom mode

    Concerning 1):
    The solution was using ar information that is available from internal demuxer using the g_player singleton.
    This is being done in the InternalPresenter method where arwidth arheight arguments are replaced by
    g_player.getvideostreamformat information


    Although one doesnt make good usage of available API using this method, one doesnt rely on other ppls decoder software passing our own data correctly back to ourselfes :p

    Concerning 2):
    The previous behavior depended on Pixelratio, which appeared to me as the Pixelratio of the screen Pixels (apparently determined by that nice interface which displays a shloud-be-square on the screen). But it shloud depend of the Aspect ratio of Image Pixels, which it does now...

    I made this against Revision 26135


     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. fnokke

    fnokke Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 26, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I know this is probably not the right place to post this, but it is the closest thing to a hit I got when I searched the forums. I am having problems when viewing SD-TV recordings through MediaPortal. The picture gets pixel artifacts and seems to have kind of a whitish layer on top (loss in contrast?). Viewing the same recording but through MPC-HC outside MePo is no problem. When I look at the logs (which I have very limited knowledge about since I have not looked at the code), I found this which I thought could be of interest. The reason is that I have a feeling that the scaling/stretching of the SD tv to my 1920x1080 screen res is incorrect. Viewing the same file in windowed MePo (i.e. not maximized) also does not show these artefacts.

    Code (Text):
    1. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: crop T, B  : 0, 0
    2. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: crop L, R  : 0, 0
    3. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Info.][(15)]: PlaneScene: video WxH  : 720x576
    4. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: video AR   : 16:9
    5. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Info.][(15)]: PlaneScene: screen WxH : 1920x1000
    6. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: AR type    : Normal
    7. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: PixelRatio : 1
    8. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: src        : (0,0)-(720,576)
    9. 2010-11-08 21:18:26.859375 [Debug][(15)]: PlaneScene: dst        : (71,0)-(1849,1000)
    Is it related to your patch, or do you have any other ideas on how I could debug this further?

    Thx, Fnokke
     
  4. flyinj

    flyinj Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Aspect ratio looks alright as far as i can tell from your log;

    but the resolution from source material annd screen differ a lot,
    so artifacts are probably because of that, to be short

    well if your screen is a modern tv screen, some of the artifacts might come from
    postprocessing done by the screen itself; in that case you should try to turn that off
    (good guess is searching for some pc-mode option, or even the screens manual)

    and since this isnt related to aspect ratio, this should definitely go someplace else,
    but im unsure where, either
     
  5. fnokke

    fnokke Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 26, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Thanks,

    I actually noticed today that playback was fine in the TV-Series plugin which caused me to suspect that it was a codec thing after all. Moving from the recommended PDVD9 Codec to ffdshow from SAF 4 solved the problem.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!