Future directions of MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

janjuul

Portal Member
February 1, 2007
Hi All,
I have been using MP for 8 months with mixed feeling. I really like the overall functionality and features of MP over any other HTPC software.(MP is the most feature rich product out there).
But it is far from rock solid, which is needed for prime time every day performance and reliability for the rest of the family. If you are a nerd that likes to play around with new builds every second day - then this is the dream of your home entertainment.
After getting tired of the shaky 2.2.0 tv-engine, I have been using GBPVR for the last month due to its superior TVengine, quick and very very reliable (never missed a recording in a month, and I did my best to stress it).
MP is my favorite software from an overall perspective, but I find it hard to understand the current development priorities...
DVB is coming all over us big time, but still focus is around building a client server installation (like it is the newest concept brought to the world!!!)
Sorry, but unless you are a nerd that want PCs all over your house with MP clients, this idea looks rather outdated. Just for your knowledge, the GBPVR has had support for the small hauppauge MVP clients for several year without any big Client/server rework. (meaning no PCs in every room, and still individual playback in each room!!!).
My biggest concern is that no one dares to challenge the current directions, and like myself we are all sitting waiting for the great team of developers to get to the points/areas that are of importance to us.
Sorry for being very practical, but my focus is all about the following main areas:
- Functionality (STB is king nowadays, and 'wife' userperception prior to bits and bites)
- Stability and performance (during playback and scheduled recordings)
- Relevance (I need DVB subtitles + STB support more than any other new feature - that simple !! and I do see a lot of people with the same focus).