Future MP user (1 Viewer)

Salle

Portal Member
December 7, 2006
Home Country
Sweden Sweden
Hi,

I'm new to the htpc world and been gathering information alot the last week. My hfx mini arrives next week and I want to be prepared. :) I've decided to go with MP, no need to motivate why to you guys. :D

I have a few questions that I couldn't find the answer to in the forums, hope you can help out..

1. I will use floppy dvbc for the digital channels, but I have also analog channels (I have comhem sweden) that I want to record from. Can I use an analog tv-card too? I was thinking about hauppage 150mce since many seem to like that card with mp.

2. Which codec/codecs are most stable? I want to do a basic working install and then experiment with ffdshow postprocessing later...

Thanks in advance

Bram

Portal Pro
December 12, 2005
's-Hertogenbosch
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
Someone had MP running with 7 working tvcards once. So I don't see Why two wouldn't work. I have no experience with digital signals, but I don't think that will make a difference.

I use the nVidia Purevideo codec, which is hardware-supported by my 6200 - 256MB. This gives me fine image quality. But the internal codec is pretty good to.

infinite.loop

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 26, 2004
    Home Country
    Austria Austria
    1. I will use floppy dvbc for the digital channels, but I have also analog channels (I have comhem sweden) that I want to record from. Can I use an analog tv-card too? I was thinking about hauppage 150mce since many seem to like that card with mp.
    that will work :)

2. Which codec/codecs are most stable?
    mpeg2 codecs are included in MediaPortal release -> MPV/MPA from gabest.

Salle

Portal Member
    December 7, 2006
    Home Country
    Sweden Sweden
    Great, thanks guys!

What about audio codec, any tips there or are they also included?

Salle

Portal Member
    December 7, 2006
    Home Country
    Sweden Sweden