Gpu/hdtv/mp setup help please

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by ShadowB123, November 23, 2018.

1. ShadowB123

ShadowB123 Portal Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have been searching for a long time for guidance on how to properly setup my HTPC with a nVidia graphics card for the best picture quality.

I just purchased an EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 SC graphics card and have it connected from my HTPC to my HDTV (Samsung UN65KS8000) via HDMI. I got to say I am not impressed by the results of the video playback. The uncompressed videos that I play seem a bit grainy and the colors could use tweaking.

I am posting this in hopes that someone can help me tweak my GPU and or MediaPortal's internal player to get optimum playback.

I am a newbie and would appreciate some help with this.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. bilis4

bilis4 Portal Pro

Ratings:
    +42 / 1
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    First of all, do you have lav filters installed?
    Second you could use madvr as renderer instead of evr [WiP] - madVR support in MP1
    i have the same TV and a 1030 card and i must say that i love the picture i am seeing.

4. wjw

wjw Portal Pro

Ratings:
    +34 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Sorry if this is a bit obvious, but....

I assume that you have used the HDMI port on the GPU and not the HDMI port on your motherboard. I have the fanless version of this card connected to a 49" Samsung using LAV and EVR and am very happy with the picture. However, I find that quite often after a Windows update the card has been removed - by Windows because it thinks the card is reporting errors - so the default onboard graphics get used and the picture is awful.