Help setting up Media portal - tv guide (1 Viewer)

mattress

Portal Member
February 13, 2008
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I am new to media potal and am having trouble getting the TV guide feature to work. I have attmepted to download tvxb but have been unable to get it to work. Is there an wasy way of using the tv guide or an easier plugin? Also everytime I try to put media portal in full screen it locks up my computer. Any ideas?

coopers

Portal Pro
November 8, 2005
Adelaide
Home Country
For tv guide, you should be able to select the option in your configuration that creates the guide from the guide that is broadcast for DVT on the digital channels.
In australia that only gives you "now and next" for each channel, the US channels might have more info.

That much should work right out of the box, and if it doesn't... does your TV have an inbuilt tuner? It should also be able to show you that information at least (just so you know it's there).

Then, once you have that much working you can use webepg or something similar to download from whatever website (tvxb? Is that a site?) the rest of the guide. MP should happily merge the two and display it in your guide.

I'd suggest the lockup problem might be video card drivers and/or your directx version. Make sure they're both updated, see if it helps. Also maybe consider updating MP to the latest svn.

jburnette

Portal Pro
August 24, 2006
Kentucky
Home Country
Since you're in the US, a better option for you would probably be using either the Schedules Direct plugin or the CT TV Listings plugin. You'll set up an account at either Schedules Direct (costs $20/year) or https://cttvlistings.net/ (free for 4 day listings), then install/configure whichever plugin you chose and you should be good to go.

This is really the best way to go in the US.

https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/plugins-47/ct-tv-listings-epg-plugin-29332/