how do you install skins? (1 Viewer)

frankievali

March 16, 2008
I am pretty new to this, but I am having tons of trouble installing any skins. i have downloaded the xface skin and monochrome and I cannot figure it out. I hope someone can help me with this? what are the steps I should take. I am clueless at this point, so any help would be appreciated.

mattsk88

Community Skin Designer
March 27, 2008
I am pretty new to this, but I am having tons of trouble installing any skins. i have downloaded the xface skin and monochrome and I cannot figure it out. I hope someone can help me with this? what are the steps I should take. I am clueless at this point, so any help would be appreciated.

Just drop the skin in the skins folder in your mediaportal install directory ie Mediaportal\skins. then start config and go to skins and select the skin.

frankievali

March 16, 2008
would that be under plugins? when I try this, I cannot figure out where and how to get the skin there. for example with the monochrome skin, it came with instructions that I followed. these are the instuctions in the readme:

the below info is confusing to me.

###################################################################
# Mediaportal-svn-07-04-2008--12-31-Rev19574 (or later) REQUIRED #
###################################################################

RELEASE DATE: 10th July 2008

Install Instructions:
---------------------

1) Copy the GeosansLight.ttf font from the Font folder into your Windows\Fonts folder.
If using Vista you may need to right-click on the font and choose "install".

2) Copy the Monochrome 4x3 folder to you MediaPortal\Skin folder.

3) Copy the plugins to your MediaPortal\Plugins\Windows folder.

4) Enable all the included plugins. how do you do this?

5) Delete the cache folder in : ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Cache (Vista)
Documents And Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team Mediaportal\Mediaportal\Cache (Windows XP)

Known Bugs:
-----------