[Usability] Linux Version Using Mono (1 Viewer)

pinguy

Portal Member
June 28, 2008
Bournemouth
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Please can this be ported to Ubuntu. None of the HTPC software for Linux are as good as MediaPortal. I loved it when I was using Windows but I just don't use that system anymore. I am actually the developer of Pinguy OS and would love to have MediaPortal installed as the default Media Center.

This should be able to be done using Mono. I have no experience in Mono so can't really help with that. But I do think you should spend some time working on a Linux version. Once you have it working on Linux there's no reason why you couldn't team up with a hardware vendor and start selling systems running MediaPortal. Unlike XBMC or Boxee your software is a DVR so many homes will want this.

I really do think its time to spread your wings. With Windows shipping with a good Media Center you are going to have a hard time trying to convince people to use MediaPortal when Media Center works perfectly well and pre-installed.

Or at the very least make it so it can run under Wine.

gemx

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 31, 2006
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    It's really nice to hear that you like MP :)

The problem with porting to Linux is not .NET but the C++ side.

The whole GUI and especially the rendering relies heavily on DirectX which is not available on Linux.

There were numerous threads about porting to linux in the past but none idea succeeded - mainly because of the DirectX stuff.

Sorry, porting to linux would mean nearly a complete rewrite. :(

tourettes

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 7, 2005
    There has been quite lot of such request in the past - answer will be the same at this time :)