Ongoing Low power MP build - i3 3225, ssd and quad dvb-t card (1 Viewer)

datfreak

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • March 19, 2006
    I will update this with photos and specs as I go along

Hi, a quick intro- Ive been using a pc to run for main lounge TV for about 8 years now. I've found that I need 4 tuners, and I use the HTPC as a file server so a cat5 network is a must. This drives a 2-3 yr LG 1080p 60" plasma - hopefully soon also a 5.1 receiver.

In this time i've had many configs - my current rig is a ~3 year ago AMD 550 dual core with 5xxx series ati gpu card.
    Watching HD tv this systems uses about ~130w according to my inline meter.
    This system always has had issues with mediaportal health after s3 resume.. sometimes it will work for weeks, then crashes until i reinstall MP. So often it is left on 24hours/day.I have tried under volting the cpu but it made very little difference.

I've done some reading and it seems the new gen I3 3225 can be less then 50w for total system power(sometimes as low as 30w!)

WARNING - BORING POWER CONSUMPTION INFO NEXT -
    I have a return to grid solar system, its only a modest 2kw but it just covers my power bill most of the time. I "earn" $.44 for each kw exported but pay $.22 for each imported. This makes energy consumption a real consideration.
    Rough figures, as the nature of solar power exporting isn't straight forward
    Current older AMD setup ~ 3kwh /day - ~ $1/day (mix ex/import) $365/y
    New I3 (presuming 40w) ~ 1kwh/day - ~$.35/day(mix ex/import) $128/y
    Difference $237/year, perhaps more if the newer system is agreeable to S3 standby.

OR maybe I just use power use a excuse to the mrs for buying new gear.

So I've just ordered:
    Corsair CMX8GX3M2B1600C9 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 $52.00
    ASUS P8H77-M Motherboard $89.00
    Intel Core i3 3225 $135.00
    Samsung 840 Series 120GB SSD Retail Box $109.00
    With post it is about $400au total.

I already have from my current rig: