m2ts not using DXVA

Discussion in 'Codecs' started by Undel, November 18, 2009.

  1. Undel
    • Premium Supporter

    Undel MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 23, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Security
    Location:
    Lubertsy, Moscow region, Russia
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Strange situation... I've installed latest Media Player Classic Home Cinema and now use "MPC Video Decoder" for H.264 and MPEG-2 in MP (m2ts extention added). But for some reason, MP doesn't use hardware acceleration for files packed in m2ts. MPC-HC, however, plays it with hardware acceleration.
    What's the catch?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    MPC video decoder only decode h.264 and VC-1p using DXVA, not MPEG-2.

    Connect Graphstudio to check what decoder is in use durning video playback.

    ...or try SAF, it will setup all automatically for you.
     
  4. Undel
    • Premium Supporter

    Undel MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 23, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Security
    Location:
    Lubertsy, Moscow region, Russia
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Well, i've tried H264 and it's not using DXVA either. SAF installs MPC decoders, but they are not the same version (even MPC-HC logo changes).
    So, the situation now is: MPC-HC and Arcsoft TMT3 mplays everything smoothly and using DXVA, MP even with SAF or Cyberlink HD264 decoder plays everythin very badly because DXVA is not working.
    I can set an external player in MP, but that doesn't answer the question "why?"
    The cause of this DXVA problems seems to be a new graphic card (Radeon HD4350 instead of integrated HD3200)
     
  5. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    If you have SAF 4.00 beta20+ installed:

    - double click on your m2ts file in explorer, MPC-HC player will play it using MPC video decoder
    - configure MediaPortal to decode h.264 using MPC video decoder and play your m2ts file in MP - MP should play it using exactly same decoder as in first case

    Posible cases why it doesnot work in MediaPortal:
    -you installed DirectVobSub
    -you have different h.264 decoder installed and it is used in my by mistake
    -there is VC-1i inside m2ts file

    How to detect problem:
    -Start MP in window, play your video and pause
    -now START - SAF - TOOLS - Graphstudio, here File - conncet to remote graph
    -you should see similar graph:
    [​IMG]

    ...if not make your screenshot and post here.
     
  6. Undel
    • Premium Supporter

    Undel MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 23, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Security
    Location:
    Lubertsy, Moscow region, Russia
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    SAF: saf400beta20test2
    AVIVO codecs removed
    CoreAVC, Cyberlink 264HD decoders installed.
    System config in my profile.

    m2ts (MPEG2 30000 kbps VBR):
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    mkv(h264):
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  7. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    You need to "unlock" SAF to use MPEG-2 DXVA acceleration, second screen will use DXVA if your hardware support it.
     
  8. Undel
    • Premium Supporter

    Undel MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 23, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Security
    Location:
    Lubertsy, Moscow region, Russia
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    I've found the source of the problem. And that wasn't video...
    FFDShow from SAF was taking all AC3/AAC/DTS/etc decoding. High-bitrate audio was making it a slow as a turtle :) I've disabled it in FFDShow settings and switched to Dscaler and Monogram. Now it's all working perfectly.
    By the way... what do you mean by *unlocking* SAF? Using expert mode in MP config?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!