1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mediaportal PVR Hostname in KODI

Discussion in 'Other HTPC Applications (no support)' started by Wayne McNamara, June 28, 2015.

  1. Wayne McNamara

    Wayne McNamara New Member

    Joined:
    June 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hello,

    This is my first time posting here so let me first start by saying hi!

    I have been trawling through the forums trying to find an answer to an issue I have but so far no luck.

    Here is a brief overview of my setups:

    Media Server running Windows 7 with KODI (Helix 14.2). This also has Mediaportal TV Server running a Dual DVB-S satellite card.

    Client 1 - Windows 7 with KODI (Helix 14.2) & Mediaportal PVR Client - (Working perfectly with full access to TV channels from the server).

    Client 2 -.Windows 7 with KODI (Helix 14.2) & Mediaportal PVR Client (Currently not working)

    My current problem:





    Client 2 is setup exactly the same as client 1 however whenever I enter the IP address of the TV server in the Hostname section of the Mediaportal PVR in KODI it never seems to save the information. When entering the Hostname and clicking OK it says the PVR service needs to restart. After going back into the configuration settings the Hostname is again blank.

    Things I have tried:

    Re-installing the Mediaportal PVR service.
    Restting the PVR Database.
    Doing a fresh install of KODI.
    Installed the Mediaportal standalone client to check it works. It works perfectly with full access to all channels.
    Have tried to access the live TV from within KODI but is says cannot access e:\livetvbuffer etc. This would indicate that it is looking for the folder locally due to not having the hostname saved. Both folders Livetv Buffer and Timeshift are shared and fully accessible to Client 2.


    I am at a complete loss of what to try next. If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,775
    Ratings:
    +7,711 / 14
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Wayne :)

    First suggestion would be: please follow our support guidelines and post log files.
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/16_Support/3_Forums/2_Log_Files

    It's the fastest way for us to get all the information we need (configuration, relevant system information, log files etc.) in order to help you.

    Regards,
    mm
     
  4. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,867
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +3,185 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    As this appears to be a KODI problem I think you should ask this question on the KODI support forum ?
     
  5. Wayne McNamara

    Wayne McNamara New Member

    Joined:
    June 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi Mm

    I am at work currently but will attach log files this evening when I get home.

    Hi Owlsroot.

    I have asked this question on the Kodi forum also but am yet to receive a response. The problem is in the Mediaportal PVR config. Do Mediaportal have nothing to do with that element of the software?

    Thanks.
     
  6. wizard123
    • Team MediaPortal

    wizard123 Design Group

    Joined:
    January 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,453
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    genius
    Ratings:
    +2,836 / 11
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    If you are talking about the Mediaportal PVR config inside Kodi no the plugin is not ours unfortunately.
     
  7. ed76
    • Premium Supporter

    ed76 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 4, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    hi,
    i also use kodi + mptvserver and i have the same behavior. it SEEMS kodi doesnt save the ip in mp-pvr-plugin because every time you go into the plugin the ip-field is empty. but for me it is working. do the following:

    1) make sure to save the correct ip in ip folder.
    2) activate the mp plugin. restart kodi.
    3) if the plugin is disabled activate it again. restart kodi. sometimes i must do that up to 3 times. but if it works for the first time after that it worked "forever". it must be a bug (with kodi pvr plugin).
     
  8. Jasmeet_181

    Jasmeet_181 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Ratings:
    +185 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Try editing your settings.xml (found in C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\userdata\addon_data\pvr.mediaportal.tvserver) in notepad, the setting is <setting id="host" value="TV server IP address" />
     
  9. Wayne McNamara

    Wayne McNamara New Member

    Joined:
    June 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for all the responses. Apologies I could not get the log up yesterday but I will tomorrow as I need to go out this evening, Ed & Jas I will try your suggestions tomorrow and let you know the outcome.

    Many thanks for your replies everyone.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!