My pictures: Option to scan only new pictures for database (1 Viewer)

tomtom21000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 22, 2004
    Germany
    Country flag
    Yesterday I took 40 new photographs and transferred them to my hard disk.
    Of course they had no thumbs shown in media portal. so i did a scan.

so far so good.
    but media portal scanned everry picture again, also those already in the database.

I have 350 pictures, it took 2 minutes, so no big problem.
    but if someone has 1.000 or 2.000 pictures this will be a bit annoying.

Maybe a option is possible:

# scan all
    # scan only new pictures

i am not an expert on databases and programming, but i imagine it could be done.

tomtom21000

A

Anonymous

if u enter the new folder and scan from there, it wont scan all pics again but only pics in this folder...

tomtom21000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 22, 2004
    Germany
    Country flag
    might be a solution.

as for now, i save all picures in one folder "my pictures".
    But with a growing number of pics its probably recommandable to create subfolders like "summer holiday 2004" or so.

tomtom21000

tomtom21000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 22, 2004
    Germany
    Country flag
    O.K. Last night I created a lot of subfolders, and I must admit thats what I should have done from the beginning 8)

So everything is working fine and scans are only made of pictures in the folder you have opened not the subfolders.

So, no need to implement a new feature for this.

tomtom21000

Users who are viewing this thread

Similar threads

This is not possible if it is a self made series, like personal travel videos etc.
    This is not possible if it is a self made series, like personal travel videos etc.
    Hi! I have videos that I want to show in TV-Series, such as personal TV series and educational series. As some examples I have...
    Replies
    Views