MySQL a Mistake (1 Viewer)

fforde

Community Plugin Dev
June 7, 2007
Texas
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I really hope I don't step on too many toes because I know there are going to be some people here that don't like what I am going to have to say. But I think you guys are asking a lot from your users asking them to install and setup MySQL alongside their TVServer installation. I am a software engineer and work with MySQL and Oracle on a daily basis so it was no sweat for me to get MySQL set up, but I don't have a single friend who would have a clue what he was doing. Every single one of them I guarantee you would have f'ed something up their first try getting MySQL going for TVServer.

So why not SQLite? Yes it has some disadvantages. No it is not MS SQL Server. It is not as robust and as fast as MySQL. And yes it does have problems if you are trying to have multiple processes access the DB at once (although I personally feel everything should be going through the TVServer, rather than clients connecting to the DB directly, but that's another discussion). None of that matters though. MediaPortal is not a corporate ERP system. We are not forecasting the inventory for millions of items for distribution across the country. MySQL is overkill, and the one disadvantage with MySQL, the added burden on the user, by far outweighs all the problems with SQLite I listed above.

SQLite is a better choice because it can be completely encapsulated by the TVServer. Install TVServer and you're ready to go. Using MySQL will drive away all but the most techy, hardcore users. If you guys are going to get rid of the traditional TV client and moving forward have the TVServer as the main TV viewer, you're making a big mistake using MySQL.

Again, I'm sorry, I hope I didn't offend anyone here, I just would like to see MediaPortal move in a direction that is best for it's future and for the community.

Nightmare77

Portal Pro
July 5, 2005
Canberra