Needs faster ATSC channel changes, and option to list channels by number

Discussion in 'Archive' started by DeaneG, August 10, 2015.

  1. DeaneG

    DeaneG New Member

    Joined:
    August 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    In looking for a replacement for Microsoft Media Center now that I am running Win 10, I installed MediaPortal 2. I mainly used Media Center to watch and record live TV, and use Emby to manage my bluray library.



    MediaPortal 2 lasted about 10 minutes on my PC, less time than it took to configure it. I didn't even try PVR functions, just tried to watch live ATSC TV. I found that channel changes were very slow, around 10 seconds, and sometimes seemed to hang.

    Also, we are used to seeing channels presented by number rather than by callsign (7.1 rather than KGODT-HD). An option to use channel number alone, or to use it as a prefix, would be useful (7.1 or 7.1 KGODT-HD).

    During configuration, I didn't find an obvious way to disable channels I have no interest in (Vietnamese language, shopping. etc).

    I'm using Silicon Dust ethernet tuners on a new Intel nuc 5i7RYH. They work fine with Silicondust's live TV app.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. 2BitSculptor
    • Team MediaPortal

    2BitSculptor Super Moderator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    290
    Occupation:
    Sculptor - Maquettes, Resin Figure Model Kits, Toy
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +386 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Welcome to the Forum ... and MediaPortal. I've been using MP 1 for several years, and have 2 HDHomeRun units for ATSC. I'm personally not ready to jump into MP 2 yet, but I hear many are happy with it on their home systems.

    If you are using the TV3 TV-Server, I can help a little, although TV3.5 may be similar. Once you have scanned the channels in, you CAN rename the displayed name to whatever. I have all of mine with numbers as prefixes (e.g., 4.1 TMJ4 HD). Just double-click on the name in the scanned list, or select the channel name in the list and click Edit. And you can un-select any channel's checkbox in TV-Server Config so it doesn't display in your guide (effectively turning it off).

    Chuck

    TV-Channels.jpg
     
    Last edited: August 11, 2015
  4. mrj

    mrj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1
    Show System Specs
    Hi DeaneG
    You should read the wiki. For example here
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ration/TV-Server_Configuration/03_TV_Channels

    hth mrj[DOUBLEPOST=1439275686][/DOUBLEPOST]Hi DeaneG
    Is this what you want?

    Wiki here:

    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...n/MediaPortal_Configuration/22_TV/1_TV_Client

    mrj
     
    Last edited: August 11, 2015
  5. DeaneG

    DeaneG New Member

    Joined:
    August 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks to Chuck and mrj for the info.

    The wiki illustrates a lot of cool functionality which seems not particularly relevant to the US ATSC market, at least not as far as this time-pressured engineer could tell.

    Since all my channels are ATSC, what I want throughout configuration and the user interface is <Channel Number> <Callsign> or just <Channel Number>, with the ability to turn off some channels, e.g.:
    .
    5.1 KPIX HD
    7.1 KGO-HD
    7.2 Motion
    7.3 Livewell
    .
    or just:
    5.1
    7.1
    7.2
    7.3

    In Media Center, this worked in a straightforward manner without need for a user manual. You click "Setup TV signal" and are led through a pretty simple and linear list.

    MP2 TV server configuration was interesting, as no channel numbers were shown, only callsigns, in a list sometimes ordered alphabetically and sometimes ordered by the underlying invisible channel numbers. I do not know all of the callsign IDs we watch, just the channel numbers, so sorting through this callsign list was challenging.

    I somehow missed seeing the checkboxes in MP2's ATSC setup, thanks for the pointer. I'm not even sure which TV engine I was configuring, whichever came by default with the download. The configurator I was using had the ability to move some of the channels into an empty box on the right, which I assumed meant I was selecting them for inclusion in a list, but it didn;t seem to work that way.

    BTW does MP1 change ATSC channels with reasonable speed? For me, MP2's speed bordered on "is it going to work at all?" territory. That's when I gave up and will wait for further progress from MP2.x or Silicondust's nascent effort.

    I am in the category of ATSC-only, technically capable but not interested or able to undertake a lot of fiddling - I imagine a lot of MP's target audience will be the same with Media Center falling away rather noisily. Is MP's current customer base largely watching DVB?
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @DeaneG

    Okay.

    Most people using MP1 and wanting what you want you would use the "show channel numbers" option:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...nfiguration/22_TV/1_TV_Client#Channel_numbers

    ...as a trivial way to get channel numbers shown as a prefix for all channel names.

    Having said that, neither MP1 or MP2 currently support ATSC 2-part channel numbers. That means that option is off the table (unless you're willing to accept numbers like 2001 and 42002 in place of 2.1 and 42.2). Further, it also means you're not going to be able to select channels by keying in "2.1" on your remote.

    As Chuck rightly said, what you do have is the ability to edit your channel names in TV Server Configuration -> TV Channels to be whatever you want. That is your ultimate recourse.

    As previously explained, you do this in TV Server Configuration -> TV Channels, first tab. Just untick the channels you don't want to see and they're gone.

    Media Center pays for that information along with their EPG service. As an organisation that relies on donations, we simply can't afford to offer that.

    I don't think it is accurate to say there are no (zero) channel numbers shown. For example, within the TV Channels section, refer to the right-most column as shown below:
    upload_2015-8-12_16-45-57.png

    ...or within channel group tabs:
    upload_2015-8-12_16-46-21.png


    Outside of that you'd be right, I suppose. You could take that as a sign that your request ("use case") is a little... unusual. Most people (at least outside the US - which is the majority of MP's user base) recognise their channels by name. Number is secondary.

    That would be SlimTV Native 3.0. Also known as TVE 3. It is essentially a transplant of MP1's TV feature.

    That would most likely be mapping. As described in the wiki, mapping is for telling TV Server which tuners can tune which channels:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...Server_Configuration/03_TV_Channels/2_Mapping

    Speed for MP1 and MP2 should be comparable/similar. The way you're describing the speed it sounds like things weren't working entirely correctly. Without log files I'm unable to speculate what the cause of that sluggishness would have been... but I can almost guarantee what you were seeing is not normal/typical.

    Yes.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. DeaneG

    DeaneG New Member

    Joined:
    August 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thank you very much mm1352000 for your detailed reply.

    My impression is that if at some point you'd like to directly address the US ATSC market, an alternate and simplified TV server setup application targeted at only ATSC or a combination of ATSC/QAM would be very helpful. Also the ability to select new channels by entering them as XX.X on the remote would be required (the remote's "*" key is often used as ".")

    Best of luck with your endeavors.
     
  8. 2BitSculptor
    • Team MediaPortal

    2BitSculptor Super Moderator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    290
    Occupation:
    Sculptor - Maquettes, Resin Figure Model Kits, Toy
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +386 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I've been using MP1, as I mentioned before, for several years, and only have ATSC. In my personal experience, I have never used the number pad to select a channel. The Wife and I have almost exclusively used the Guide to select and jump around the channels. Heck, we don't even use the channel up/dn keys, except for paging up/down the guide. And only occasionally have I used the mini-guide. Schedules Direct has been our guide service from the beginning. Once you get TV-Server and SD set up you don't have to fiddle with them unless you find that new channels have been added to the lineup and have to rescan. The SD plugin needs to be updated to accommodate the new guide service SD is using, although the old SD is still working sufficiently for my needs.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. mrj

    mrj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1
    Show System Specs
    Hi
    I do the same, I never zap a new channel,

    /mrj
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!