New multi-seat set-up - Thoughts welcome!! (1 Viewer)

phrontis

January 4, 2011
Hamburg
Home Country
Germany Germany
I have been using Mediaportal for two years now and would like to replace my aging MediaPortal singleseat set-up with a multi-seat set-up with two clients.

Before I order the components, I was hoping to get some feedback on whether the set-up will allow me to watch HD TV (720p, 1080i) and whether there are some components that I should reconsider.

Server:
Fractal Array R2 ITX Tower
Asus P8H77-I Intel H77
Intel Celeron G530 2x2.40GHz Boxed
8GB TeamGroup Elite DDR3-1333
Cine S2 V6 + CI Modul
Windows Home Server 2011

I would like to hide the server in a cupboard hence the mini-itx format. I was also planning on re-using my 4x1.5TB drives that are currently in my DS410. I also have a 500GB disk that I would like to use for OS and timeshifting. Does it make sense to use an SSD for the TV Server as OS disk?

Clients:
MS-Tech MC-80BL ITX
Asus E45M1-I Deluxe AMD A50M
4GB Teamgroup Elite DDR3-1333
60GB OCZ Vertex II 2.5"
Optiarc Blu-ray/DVD Recorder Slot-in
Windows 7 32bit

I really like the case. In combination with the SSD and the passively cooled CPU it should allow for a fairly silent client. I am not sure, if the AMD E-450 is powerful enough for a client only set-up, especially when it comes to displaying more complex skins?

If I understand the information in the forum correctly the E-450 should be powerful enough to display 1080i HDTV??

Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome!!! :)

Thanks!!

JimCatMP

Documentation Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 1, 2010
    Leeds
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi