New Setup - Advice/Help Wanted (1 Viewer)

Simfreak

Portal Member
January 6, 2013
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hi All,

I'm new to media portal and wanted to get advice from the community before I spent hours and tons of cash trying to get this to work;
Originally I had sagetv, which after litterally 3 years and a few 'k' (expensive hobby this is) finally had perfect until they were bought by google and i couldnt add a new licence for a guest room; After that i became discruntaled and just paid for a DirecTV DVR with the whole home and called it a day. Fast forward a year and now im getting a little tired with the 5 second delay for FF/RW/Play, the lack of comskipping and no means of remote placeshifting; All of which worked great on sage....
I was going to go the route of myth, but im not a super linux fan which led me here.

So enough with the background lets get to the fun stuff.
Requirements:
Commercial skipping (I already paid for comskip);
Remote placeshifting; I travel a lot and it would be nice to watch my recordings on the road. Plus my work is pretty lax, so if there is a baseball game on or something they dont mind us watching as long as the work gets done.
Network Reciever control; I have done the serial route before and could again if i absolutely had to, but since the mini-itx board only supports 1 pci card, i would rather use that for raid then the 4 port serial card i have.
Everything else im pretty sure MP can handle.
Does MP integrate with any newsbins? Someone at work swears by it and turned off all his TV subs and relies on that 100%. Im stuck with DTV because im a Sunday Ticket Sub, and i cant bring myself to watching 'recorded' sports.

Equipment:
I have 3 DirecTV recivers (all can be located in a closet in my computer room);
3 HDPVR's
Server is a i5 660 w/ 8GB ram, LSI RAID card and 4 1.5 7.2k drives in RAID5; win7 x64 ENT