New to the TV section of MP - Few Questions (1 Viewer)

Creamfilling

Portal Member
November 12, 2010
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I have been using MP for about 4 years on my HTPC but I have used it only as a Blu-Ray jukebox.

Recently I setup an HTPC for some relatives and in their house and they do not subscribe to any cable/sat providers. They currently just use an HD TV antenna to bring channels in. Well I thought it would be nice to help them setup the TV stuff and buy a tv tuner for the HTPC so that they could record tv.

Here is the TV tuner that I am looking at getting them
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815116028

So my questions:

1. I am assuming this card will work well with MP? I know it is a single tuner but that is fine, they will only use it to record, not for live TV.

2. Will I be able to use this card to record TV? Or do I need a TV DVR card?

3. How much space does recording take up for HD content? I was planning to split one of the HD partitions and giving them 400gig. That plenty?

Thank you very much in advance

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello Creamfilling

1. I am assuming this card will work well with MP? I know it is a single tuner but that is fine, they will only use it to record, not for live TV.
    Yep, should work fine. No problems that I recall reported over the last 3+ years that I've been actively working on MP. :)

2. Will I be able to use this card to record TV? Or do I need a TV DVR card?
    Yes, you can use it to record TV. With MP, any compatible tuner gives you the ability to view/timeshift live TV and/or record. MP is the DVR. :)

3. How much space does recording take up for HD content? I was planning to split one of the HD partitions and giving them 400gig. That plenty?