Newbie setting up schedules direct (1 Viewer)

Yankees?

• Boner

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Suck

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

jessek12

May 15, 2012
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I've just looked into setting my computer up as a DVR so I'm very new to this stuff. I have an account with schedules direct and media portal is installed. I followed this set up http://office.homefrontus.com/mediaportal/S-Direct and right now I have a couple questions. First off when I go into Media Portal and go to TV there is no data under the TV guide. It says "NO CHANNELS" and "NO DATA AVAILABLE." Also there is no TV playing which I was expecting because I don't have a video card or TV tuner yet which is my second question.

I have a Dazzle DVC100 which I don't think I can use as a video card, so since I have to buy a new one should I be looking for a video card or a TV tuner? And with schedules direct I won't be plugging anything into the card right? I will just be using the hardware for video encoding and stuff and will be getting the channels from the internet with schedules direct right? If that's all correct then I need some suggestions about a card. I want to go cheap. I've been looking at
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Hauppau...uner/3336561.p?id=1218395157287&skuId=3336561
and
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Hauppau...rder/4313827.p?id=1218471854581&skuId=4313827
because they come with remotes. I prefer PCI over PCIe because I only have 1 PCIe port on my computer and am looking to use that with a wifi adapter. Is there an advantage to PCIe? Will the remote work with changing the channels with schedules direct or is the remote a waste of money?

Sorry for so much questions. I want to set this up but before I spend $100 I want to make sure I have the facts right. Thanks

tomtj

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • March 18, 2012
    NW Chicago suburbs
    Home Country
    Hi jessek12,