[solved] Newbie user, new card (tbs6985) and first integration with MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

beranim

June 1, 2014
Leeds
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi,

I have just installed a sat card (TBS6985) today and am trying to get this to link up with MediaPortal V1.7.1). Unfortunately the documentation provided by TBS is somewhat lacking (IMHO). So I am really stuck. ..

Being a complete novice, I had hoped this would be simple ...

I have a Sky HD box and have disconnected this, and tested that with a Humax Freesat PVR which works fine, i.e. it is getting a signal, sets up the EPG and can p[lay and record. I have then disconnected the Humax PVR and connected the same cables to the TBS6985 card - in the hope it would simply (by magic) work). Sadly, like many things in life, it didn't work :)

The card itself, has 4 tuners and appears to have installed OK (windows 7), and I can see 4 tuners on MediaPorta(all enabled). However I only have two cables coming in from the sat dish at the moment (so two are currently redundant).

Under DVB-EPG, TV grabber, - store for selected channels in enabled
Under Radio-EPG, Radio Grabber - store for selected channels is enabled

In MediaPortal itself, I can select radio channels and listen, but when I try the 'TV' I get a side-window opening (which I can scroll through) but cannot select anything. I therefore assume that the TV-EPG grabbing is not working.

The answer is probably blindingly obvious, but at the moment I have no sense of how to approach solving the problem. So any guidance help is very welcome indeed.

Based on other threads, I will probably need to answer more questions first ...
Thanks for your time

beranim

erichzann

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 25, 2011
    Oxford
    Home Country
    Have you successfully scanned for the channels in mediaportal?

If so are you able to preview them in the Tv Server configuration: TV Channels > Select channel and click preview.

beranim

June 1, 2014