Newby Questions - Shaw HD and MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

mmiller

November 20, 2011
Home Country
Canada Canada
Hi Folks!

Total newby here - actually a total outsider as I have yet to install/run the software :eek:

I have some general/broad questions before I decide to undertake another DVR project ;-)

My background is Microsoft's Media Center (XP & Windows 7) and DVRMS-Toolbox/Show Analyzer/Comskip. Up until recently I've been running standard analog cable into two Theater 550's and then recording shows, removing commercials and then converting them to .wmv (all automated & courtesy of the DVRMSToolbox) so I have a fairly large time investment in automating my DVR...

However, we're changing our cable setup from analog to Digital/HD with Shaw (our local provider). This leaves me in an interesting place. Microsoft's Media Center will work with my providers's digital STB (no HD) but not with their HD-PVR box.

And so, now I'm wondering if I should stick with the OEM Shaw DVR (and lump it) OR try out connecting it to something new, like....MediaPortal :D I absolutely HATE not being able to delete channels from the guide and it's my understanding that, right off the bat, you can't do that with the OEM hardware DVR they provide....

If anyone has been able to bear with me, this brings me to a couple of broad questions.....

The cable signal is digital and encrypted. The box we're getting is an actual DVR, a Motorola DCX3400. In really broad strokes....

Is is possible to hook up a DCX3400 (or two) to MediaPortal and get Microsoft Media Center-like functionality?
Can those DCX3400's be reliably controlled by MediaPortal? Will I be able to record HD?
Also, do you get full metadata with the recordings that MediaPortal makes? I'm used to all the DVRMS/WTV metadata and I like it!
What would I need for hardware on the MediaPortal machine?
Lastly, does anyone know if DVRMSToolbox (et al) works with Media Portal as well?

I might have more Q's but thanks in advance!

mm1352000