Please Help - Set up of environment for Plug In Development (1 Viewer)

dvgeek

Portal Pro
November 16, 2013
SF Bay Area, California
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hello Developers & Experts,

I would like to get involved and start on some plug-in development. I have some (;)) programming background and a lot of systems background.

I've just set up a new VM Windows7-64 environment for development (nothing but OS on this & updated with all the MS updates/patches). I have read through the relevant Wiki sections on development and am a bit confused on the basics. Please pardon me if the answers exist to my questions and point me to right resource link.
  1. What do I need to install on this clean environment?
  2. Visual Studio Express 2010 / 2012 / 2013?
  3. Do I need to install all the required software mentioned for development of Media Portal even for Plug-In development? I do not plan on touching (modifying) any of the main code - I do understand I will need to reference / call some functions, etc. in the PlugIn code I develop.
  4. My understanding is that from ver 1.6 the shift has been to .Net 4 - but the Plug-In development wiki says I have to target .Net 3.5?
  5. What is the sequence for installs of the required software? Is there any?
The reason I picked a VM to do this, is because after installing all the pre-reqs, I would like to manage the development environment with snapshots, so that I can always go back to a point of reference without having to install all the pre-reqs again.

Thank you for a wonderful product and hoping I can contribute to the PlugIn community.

ChubbyArse

Portal Member
December 28, 2011
I've just been through this - so hopefully I can advise.