Plugins dying off... (1 Viewer)

Would you buy plugins or themes from a 'MediaPortal Market Place'?

• Total voters

Phill Healey

January 9, 2015
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
As a user of MP for somewhere in the region of 10years now, it seems as though the plugin side of things has never really exploded. There have been some great plugins over the years. Some of them (online-videos) have been great and successful, whereas others have been brilliant ideas but have never made it to a stable release.

As a developer myself, I realise that this is always going to happen. However, it just doesn't seems -IMHO- that the plugin community has ever really moved up a gear. Plugins are essentially secondary with would be developers coming and going without ever releasing a viable plugin. Likewise, there has been few 'wow' developments, despite the fact that there is a LOT of potential. Even the plugins that do make it into the wild are mostly only picked up by handfuls of users.

With that in mind, I just wonder if creating some form of marketplace for plugins and even themes would improve things in terms of giving developers motivation and with making plugins available to users in a more direct and simplified manner. Even the Raspberry Pi computer has its own marketplace where dev can sell their work for a bit of pocket money. This is a widespread model that seems to be paying dividends in all manner of platforms.

iTunes, Google Play, Amazon App Store, Chrome, etc....

Anyway, I was just interested in putting out the idea and seeing what peoples thoughts on it are. Obviously I have no power to make this happen, but I am interested in the debate surrounding it.

***NOTICE***

By arketplace I mean something in line with current practice across numerous platfors, whereby free and paid apps/ plugins sit alongside each other.

Last edited:

LJG

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • March 3, 2012
    Home Country
    I think I may disagree.