[Usability] Possibility to BLOCK a "delete item" feature

rivera

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2008
    237
    18
    There is a "File menu" with simple ops like Copy, Move, Delete etc.
    This menu can be disabled in Configuration dialog.
    But still there is a risk to delete any item by mistake.
    At least in "My Videos", "My Music", "My Pictures" plugins we can press a "0" buton on Remote by chance which will cause removal of the selected item (currently I had to exclude this hotkey in Configuration dialog manually).
    I propose a checkbox "Disable deletion of items" which BLOCKS this possibility (without excluding an appropriated hotkey).
    For flexibility, this checkbox can be provided for every mentioned plugin.
    For other "non-standard" plugins like "My Music Videos" the checkbox will be an advisable feature.
     

    rivera

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2008
    237
    18
    Another way is to exclude this "Delete item" menu at all.
     

    Paranoid Delusion

    Moderation Manager
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 13, 2005
    13,062
    113
    Cheshire
    I agree fully, there should be a option that selected folder have no delete option, various plugins support this, just would not like to lose a Movie or TVSeries collection accidently, even though I have them backed up, pretty sure this would be popular :)
     

    rivera

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 1, 2008
    237
    18
    Actually, we already have a dedicated menu responsible for file operations.
    This file menu is explicitly controlled by Configuration.
    And the "Delete item" menu should not be separate.
     
    Top Bottom