[Configuration] - Powerscheduler: Add option to sleep TV Server if Client is online but TV Server is idle

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by darkside40, April 23, 2014.

  1. darkside40

    darkside40 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 17, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ruhrgebiet
    Ratings:
    +32 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,
    would it be possible to extend the Powerscheduler Plugin in the TVServer so it shutdowns the TV Server even if a remote client is online but not using the TV Server (no Timeshifting recording etc.).

    In my case this feature would be usefull because my TV Server gets only activated by the WOL Power Manager plugin when it is really needed, to save power. If now someone uses a client to watch TV and after that watches a Movie from the NAS the TV Server keeps running, although it has nothing to do (Standby prevented by: Remote Client).

    Would that be possible and on the other hand a good idea?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. darkside40

    darkside40 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 17, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ruhrgebiet
    Ratings:
    +32 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Anyone?
     
  4. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
  5. Guzzi
    • Premium Supporter

    Guzzi Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    704
    Ratings:
    +922 / 0
    +1 - but it would need update on the client side too, as the client expects the server to be present if running ...
     
  6. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    I started to work on it.

    Good news: It is working. ;)
    Bad news: it is required to modify the TvPlugin and there is code freeze in TVE3. :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!