Preinstall questions (1 Viewer)

dinki

Portal Member
June 7, 2006
A little background: I've been using PC PVR software since around 1998-1999 when I was running Snapstream using an ATI TV Wonder VE. I ran that for a while and even did a bit of beta testing for them. In '03 I switched to MythTV (KnoppMyth distro) which I ran until March of this year. I really like the growth that MythTV showed, but the constant battle I had with Linux every time a new version of the KnoppMyth distro came out and any time I would 'upgrade' a component really left a bad taste in my mouth. I finally gave up and decided to go back to a Windows based PVR. I chose GBPvr and on a whole I am pretty happy with it. Unfortunately, the core is closed source and seeing what happened with Meedio I'm thinking that I might want to be with an open source solution instead. I am also at the mercy of the author when it comes to features added, quirks fixed, etc. Don't get me wrong, he does a great job, but there are some nuaisnaces that I'd like to be without.

Phew! Sorry for the longwinded intro, but I thought it might be helpful. What I'd like to know is:

(a) if my system has enough of the right components to run Media Portal without problem:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+, ECS K7S5APro, 512 meg SDRAM, ATI Radeon 9000 Svid Out, Western Digital 120 gig 7200 rpm, Hauppauge 150MCE, Hauppauge 150 NonMCE, Homemade Serial IR Receiver (Running WinLirc and IREx to send virtual keystrokes)

and

(b) if MP can do any/all of the following:

1) Handle multiple inputs on a single capture card. I have both basic cable and DirecTV. On one of my PVR150's I have both cable (via tuner) and DirecTV (via composite video in and rca audio in) connected. The scheduler can then record/display one or the other depending on the need. This is really important to me.
2) Schedule and manage upcoming recordings via a web interface.
3) Stream recorded programs via web interface