[Question] Media Portal functionality (1 Viewer)

SGA

September 19, 2008
Hello everyone.

I'm kinda new to the HTPC world, and I'm currently gathering information for a system I'm building.

Due to a few constraints forced on me, I'm going to build a dual purpose PC.

I need it to be able to display and record video/audio on one hand, and allow me to use it as a work PC as well while doing the above.

To my understanding, for that I need 2 separate Audio/Video cards installed.

My question is: Does media portal support such functionality?

I want to connect my TV to an onboard 790GX drived HDMI output (defined as secondary display) and use the onboard audio interface to render the audio (this too will be my secondary audio output device)

will media portal allow me to define which audio card to use for rendering? will i be able to use a full screen mode on the secondary display?

are there any problems I am not anticipating that might surprise me?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

milhouse

Portal Pro
November 9, 2006
Raleigh, NC U.S.
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
MP can deal with multiple displays. There's a setting for which display it should start up on, so no problem there.

I am pretty sure it CANNOT deal with multiple sound cards, though.

You are actually intending to use the same PC, at the same time, for two different A/V tasks? Not sure that's a very good idea...

Wolen

Portal Pro
May 27, 2008
Home Country