recommend DVB-S2 card, (UK) criteria inside

Discussion in 'TV-Cards' started by mmmalas, February 11, 2012.

  1. mmmalas

    mmmalas Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I am looking to buy my first tv card (DVB-S2):

    1- cheaper the better. dont have huge budget
    2- I am NOT interested in dual tuner, single one is all what I need.
    3- would like a card that is compatabile with most DVB applications
    4- sensitive card, so it picks up weaker channels
    5- I fancy blind scan, however I am not sure how much I would benifet from it

    this is going to be used for:
    1- UK free sat,

    2- more importantly going to pick up FTA channels, on diffrent dish when I buy the new dish.

    thanks for looking


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    TBS 6922 TBS6922 PCI-E DVB-S2 Blind Scan Satellite TV PC Tuner Card Tax Paid | eBay

    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

    The Tevii seems to be the cheapest. I have no personal experience with DVB-S2.

    I have a DVB-T2 TBS card, and it is great. I would definitely recommend the brand.

    The best thing to do is identify a few possibilities and search the forums here to see if anyone is having problems. Of course, more users = more problems, so make sure you get a balanced view.

    Mark
     
  4. mmmalas

    mmmalas Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks for the reply,

    funny thing I am bidding on one of those, and watching another.

    I was wondering if there are ones that I should stay away, or ones that are recommended.

    also what is the use case for blind scan, (surely I can use the manual tuning if I missed a channel) also what case I need to use blind scan, is it in case that the channel just added and the transponder was not updated?
     
  5. Vimes
    • Premium Supporter

    Vimes MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  6. mmmalas

    mmmalas Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I got tbs 8920 for a good price @ £28 second hand.

    so I will try it out, thanks for the help guys. you will be seeing more of me in the future :)
     
  7. SpudR
    • Team MediaPortal

    SpudR Documentation Group

    Joined:
    July 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    447
    Occupation:
    CTO, MD
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +672 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Slight thread hijack here - I see that the OP found a solution :)
    I would like the same criteria except I want to watch one channel and record another - through a single cable if possible, DVB-S2 is only requirement...
     
  8. porky996t
    • Premium Supporter

    porky996t MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chartered Surveyor
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Hi Spud,

    If you use a single cable you could only watch and record different channels if they are on the same transponder only. On sat systems each channel that is active, and on a different transponder, needs its own LNB; if you have only a single cable, you have access to only one LNB and that is the limiting factor.

    For greater flexibility you would need a dual LNB and dual tune card to enable you to watch one and record another.

    Is it not possible to replace your existing LNB (I did with my old Sky dish - I put a quad one on there) I also used "shotgun" cable - a sort of dual coax which made it easier to nail to the wall. The cost isn't too great.
     
  9. mmmalas

    mmmalas Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am not sure what a transponder is but, I was able to record around 5 channels at once! all with single cable.

    I guess a transponder is a bundle of channels within the satalite?

    I had replaced the PCI card, with the PCI-E version, its exactly the same but I dont have enough PCI slots.

    I can sell it for what I got for if thats allowed here.
     
  10. SpudR
    • Team MediaPortal

    SpudR Documentation Group

    Joined:
    July 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    447
    Occupation:
    CTO, MD
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +672 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Now I'm reet confused!
    I found this: http://www.tbsdtv.com/products/tbs6981-dvb-s2-dual-tuner-pcie-card.html
    the site says
    And it supports something called 'Unicable / one cable support'
    ???
     
  11. porky996t
    • Premium Supporter

    porky996t MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chartered Surveyor
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Hmmm... interesting Spud,

    If you look at this >>here<< it is the channel list for Astra 1N at 28.2E and shows the tuning details for each transponder, in addition to the channels available on each transponder, so you can get an idea of which channels are available on each transponder.

    Also this is how Unicable works. >>here<<

    From the limited knowledge I have (called a pal who fits satellite systems :rolleyes: ) you would need to use a Unicable LNB to be sure the system works as you hope it should.

    I would see if others can shed any more light on it before shelling out the hard earned. In fact, have a look at the TBS forum and see what is said on there. I have a TBS card and cannot fault it at all.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!