[TV] - rename channels on scanning

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by Vasilich, December 8, 2014.

?

How to imlement channel name change

  1. automatically (in case of several tuningDetails - to match first TuningDetail name)

    14.3%
  2. automatically (in case of several tuningDetails - to match changed TuningDetail name)

    57.1%
  3. Manually (with checkbox whether to rename channels with several TuningDetails)

    14.3%
  4. Manually (inly for channels with single TuningDetails)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. other way (please describe how)

    14.3%
  6. i am strongly against this function (please describe the reason)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    Input data: Any TV tuner card (i have DVB-S), some channels mapped to that tuner. One channel in transponder changes its name. We start scan in TVConfig.
    Current situation: tvserver scans that transponder, sees that one channel has changed its name, and changes TuningDetails name in our DB. MP channel name will not be changed (for various reasons, listed below).
    Desired situation: the channel in MP changes its name according to changed name in TuningDetails for this channel.

    Reasons for current behavior as i understand them:
    1. A channel can be renamed, and i don't want to loose my custom name after changing transponder channel name.
    2. One MP channel can have several TuningDetails, so channel name can be ambiguous (unclear, name from what TuningDetails should be used for MP channel name).
    3. Any other reason i'm currently not aware of.

    So i suggest to :
    either do some automatic renaming for the cases when only one changed TuningDetail is configured for MP channel (or the old name of TuningDetails was the same as MP channel name, and this TuningDetails was the first one in the TuningDetails list for that channel),
    or possbility to do that at later time (via button press).



    Both solutions will overwrite my custom names, so to avoid this we have to mark the channels that were renamed by user. Another boolean DB Field "IsCustomName"? Does it worth it? how many users rename their channels?

    First solution should be default active with checkbox that deactivates this function for those who doesn't need that feature (for whatever reason, don't know any atm).

    @mm1352000 Correct me if i'm wrong.

    So before i implement it, I want to clear all pros/contras and choose the solution most comfortable for the majority of users.
     
    Last edited: December 8, 2014
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,422
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,166 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    1+
    An option where you allow MePo to overwrite any existing names with the real SAT name would be welcome.
     
  5. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I've already implemented automatic channel name updating for TVE 3.5.
    Conditions:
    1. Scan finds tuning detail update.
    2. Old tuning detail name is not equal to the new tuning detail name.
    3. Old tuning detail name equals the linked channel name.
    4. (The number of tuning details linked to the channel is not considered.)
    In this scenario, the channel name (and tuning detail name) will be updated to match the new tuning detail name.
    Same logic applies to channel numbers.
    Note: it is now also possible to edit the tuning detail name and number.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  7. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    then it means that if i'll implement same logic, then i won't need to create branch for TVE35?
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Pass.
    I don't see the point of implementing anything for TVE 3 any more. Personally (and with the greatest respect) I think you'd be wasting your time whether you create a branch or not. I guess the choice is yours.
     
  9. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    i went the easy way and made SQL scripts:
    1. to run once - to fix already scanned systems.
    2. as "after update" trigger for tuningdetails table - to do it automatically from DB server-side. willl work for all future scans. requires "create trigger" rights for DB.

    with that approach it will work for all MP1 versions without code change.
    Anyone still interested?
     
  10. xvffx

    xvffx Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 15, 2007
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ratings:
    +43 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I am.... To clarify this is not sat specific ? Once it is set would the epg be more supported ? Meaning less channel mapping require?

    Vff
     
  11. alexdepalma
    • Premium Supporter

    alexdepalma MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 31, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    293
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +475 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    I suggest to offer the option to rename channels according to the tuned name.
    This option could be available in the channels list for all channels or selected ones, not at the end or during tuning.

    At the end of tuning, my suggestion is to promt a message for channels name changed.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!